Tempe, AZ
86 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!

Tempe, AZ Nannies

Tawnia R. - Seeking Work in Tempe

17.14 / hour

Dear Family, I have been in childcare for over 25 years. My last job was with triplet infant/toddler girls for a year. Before that, I worked with a family with 3 children for 10 years. I am still in contact with both families and remain in good standing with them. I am consistently known for singing, rocking, playing, and dealing with children in an age appropriate manner. I love children and have been in the childcare business in many different areas (daycare, pre-school, Sunday School, kindergarten, babysitting, and nannying). The other thing that I am known for, is taking everyday activities and even chores, and making it a fun adventure. I am also an outdoor lover! I was raised on an 80 acre farm and ranch and I am no stranger to animals. I am comfortable with animals and would feel at ease in a home with pets. I would be able to promote playdates and friendships for the children. I believe with the hours that I offer to the new family, I would be a great fit for someone that would love for their child/ren to have the pre-school type environment, but are not ready to have them in the classroom setting yet. I have previously worked as a pre-school teacher, and have a passion for teaching the little ones. I was the pre-school teacher for the family I was with for 10 years, and I also taught pre-school activities with the triplets I was previously with. I am not a believer in setting children in front of the television! I like to get involved with the child/ren wherever possible and be interactive with them. If you believe that this is a good match for you, then I hope to hear from you soon! Your future nanny. Tawnia
Kinsey R. - Seeking Work in Tempe

22.85 / hour

I have been a nanny for the past 14 years for a family of four; this family also had two teenage boys who were nominally under my care at times though they never did need much other than some driving and random advice. My job these past 14 years included caring for and assisting with the raising of the newborn triplets and their brother who is 14mos older. These children all received therapy; speech, physical, and such for a few years. I was involved with all of the therapy, education, and day to day routines for all four children. I worked with them full-time from 2001 till 2007 when I switched to part-time/weekends/summer/holidays for one year to finish my bachelor's degree. In 2009 I returned to working full time. The first few years included all daily activities such as swimming lessons, all doctor's visits, sleep training, potty training,preschool...etc. I continued working for them full-time after the mother took an early retirement and we worked together. I have also been a short term nanny (about 6-8mo)for three other families as well as worked as a daycare teacher as the lead teacher of the 1yr old classroom; also was an assistant to various lead teacher while in high school at another daycare working with 1-12 year olds. I have a large family and extended family; I began babysitting my siblings, relatives and friends' children since I was 12 years old-back in the day when young girls could safely babysit in this world! I still assist with cousins, friends' children, and now nieces and nephews(one of whom has a severe type/form of Autism) so I continue to learn and gain new experience with children of all temperament and background. I am great with all types of children and I have my undergraduate degree in Secondary Education/History and an Arizona teaching certificate(7-12th grades). I am currently working on my graduate thesis to complete my Master's in the Arts at Arizona State University. I have always been patient and loving with children but I also have years of professional development and academic training. I believe all of my experiences combine to make me the best type of nanny; a nanny who knows how to teach children while supporting healthy childhood development and who also loves children.
Annette C. - Seeking Work in Tempe

11.34 / hour

I have been babysitting since I was thirteen, I started off with infant nursery at church. Worked my way up to pre-kinder. When I was seventeen I began to teach children in kids church, making the lessons and teaching them as well to about twenty to thirty children. I have been a nanny to two boys they were two and five when I started. I have done mini summer programs where I have about five students all in the same grade and I get them ready for the next school year. I am currently a tutor. Have had experience with all ages and children with disabilities. I have done summer programs that are fully focused on working with children of all ages with disabilities.
Tiffany W. - Seeking Work in Tempe

11.42 / hour

I have been a full time(Mon-Fri), live-out nanny for 5 years for a wonderful family of 2 girls, (ages 11 years old and 5 years old) and 3 dogs. I have been with the youngest since she was only 9 months old. I also do light chores such as trash, dishes, feeding the dogs and any errands that must be done! I have also taken college courses in: Early Childhood Education, Early Childhood Psychology, and Teaching Children with Disabilities. For the last 2.5 years I have cared for and helped a family of a 2 1/2 year old little boy since he was 6 weeks old (as well as their dog)! And lastly, I have been baby-sitting since I was 16 years old.
Trae W. - Seeking Work in Tempe

11.42 / hour

I have worked in the preschool at my high school for three years and I just recently graduated last year. During those three years, I planned educational lessons, taught my individual lessons, and worked one on one with each child. During 2013-2014 I was a paid employee for the preschool and may position was assistant teacher. worked as a teacher's assistant. I also have been babysitting since I was 12 and have always loved working with children. I also volunteer at church in the children's Sunday school with my Aunt every other Sunday!
Brianne M. - Seeking Work in Tempe

11.97 / hour

I started babysitting when I was 11 years old after taking a babysitting and CPR certification class. Since then I have babysat for many different families, nannied for a few of them, and am still in close contact with most of them. I worked at a preschool and day care for a year, loved it's, but had to stop due to school and scheduling issues. I have cared for children as young as 2 years old to as old as 12 years old.
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Tempe, AZ?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Tempe’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Tempe Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in Arizona?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Tempe?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?