Derby, CT
13 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!

Derby, CT Nannies

Cynthia R. - Seeking Work in Derby

17.14 / hour
Full-time hours

I have been a nanny for many different families. I have experienced many different age ranges (0-12). I worked at a daycare when I was in high school. I also have a two year old son of my own.
Rhonda D. - Seeking Work in Derby

10.50 / hour

I have worked with children in various capacities for more than 20 years. I began babysitting at 12, became an Aunt, and later started my career as a paraprofessional working with children with special needs. My greatest of those would be my role as "Auntie" to 5 awesome kids!
Alyssa R. - Seeking Work in Derby

15.00 / hour
Full-time hours
4 yrs of experience

Hi families! I have about 6 years of experience with children! Not only have I nannied and babysat but I have also worked in 2 daycare facilities as well. I have always loved kids and I am not only looking for a lifelong career but I am looking to become a part of somebody's family. I like being a nanny for the one on one experience opposed to being in a classroom with a bunch of children at once. I've always loved children and I'm ready to make this my life, I am also CPR certified and I eventually would like to get my CDA. My availability is everyday all day, mostly during the week 7 am to 6 pm, but I am flexible and willing to work with a family depending on their schedule. I look forward to speaking with you all :)!
Agnieszka R. - Seeking Work in Derby

22.85 / hour
Full-time hours

Hello.My name is Agnieszka(Aga). I have been nanny for over 10 years.I love spending my time with kids since they are born.Watching them from being just litlle, precious babies, growing and having their own personalities and becoming kids with strong values and good hearts.I think the most important is the passion to whatever we do.I always try to give everything i have and give a good example .I started my first job as an au pair in New Jersey.Spend there great 2 years .When i started the first child was 15 month and second was just born.After that time I met my husband and moved to Connecticut.I found really nice familly of 3.Paige and David were like family to me since that day on.Their litlle 4 month daughter Elle has been my favorite- I have to admit.I even tought her to speak Polish.I was feeding her breakfast, dressing and playing with her.We were going for a walk almost everyday.Often spend the mornigs in the library or step and stones, aquarium, lots of activities.we had lunch at home and after that Elle took a nap.In the afternoon, we played and read books, had dinner.Then the family grew bigger.First Brooke came to the world.Cute litlle girl.then Jhon.J spent with this wonderful family 10 years.Being busy from mornig to late evening.Morning making lunches to school.Sending Brooke and Elle to school.Driving John to preschool.Doing schopping, loundry, cleaning up the kitchen, making the beds, changing sheets every week or more often if needed.Tidy up rooms and organizing the things and books.I prepared also dinners.Made homemade meals like chicken, fish, meatballs.I also run errand as needed and drove kids to acctivities after school.i made sure they did their homework.Now they are moving away so eventually i have to move on too.Litlle sad but I am hoping to find someone special to take care as well.i really ejoyed having a litlle baby and watch them becoming a grown up person with his or her own personality.Thank You for spending your time and reading my long letter.
Alyssa R. - Seeking Work in Derby

17.14 / hour
Full-time hours

I have a little over 5 years experience working with children. I have babysat for my siblings growing up, I babysat for families for a couple of years & i have also worked for 2 daycare facilities as an assistant teacher for all age groups including preschoolers, toddlers, & infants! I had to change them, feed them, potty train them, put them down for naps, take them outside & do activities with them, teach them colors numbers & letters.
Jennifer N. - Seeking Work in Derby

22.85 / hour

I am the oldest of 4 in my family. My siblings range from 14-26 years old now, in which I cared a great deal for them throughout the years. I have also been a nanny for a short time in Martha's Vineyard for a newborn and two year old. I have babysat for random families while living in MV as well.
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Derby, NY?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Derby’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Derby Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in New York?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Derby?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?