Essex, CT
2 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
 
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!

Essex, CT Nannies

Meredith C. - Seeking Work in Essex

14.28 / hour
Full-time hours

My name is Meredith and I have been in the childcare business for 12 years, working with children of all ages. I am 33 years old and have a Bachelor's degree from Castleton University. I have worked as a Nanny for three separate families and my own. As a Nanny I have cared for two young girls who were so much fun. We had all sorts of fun outings especially going to the beach. I have a 16 year-old niece who I have watched since she was a baby and we do everything together because she is a blast. Also, I was a part time live in nanny for two teenage girls who definitely made me miss my teen years. Most recently I was a live in Nanny for two elementary aged boys whom are very smart and rambunctious. All of these children I love and learned a lot from. Before becoming a nanny I worked at an After School, after my first 3 years I acquired my Head Teacher Certificate (which means I was the supervisor of a school site). The After School I supervised had around 50 children and 11 alternating staff. In the after school we played outside, did homework, made art projects, played lots of games and many other fun activities. I worked at an after school for over 10 years. Before getting my Certificate I worked two summers at a Preschool Sumer camp. A few years later I worked at a school age Summer Camp for three years as First Aid Director and Alternate Camp Director, my first year I also worked as the Arts and Crafts Director and made some really creative projects. I was still certified in first aid, CPR, and AED until recently but, I have taken the certification classes many times including EPI-PEN.
Pamela C. - Seeking Work in Essex

20.00 / hour
29 yrs of experience

I simply adore Kids! I can bring the gifts of learning, music, fun, creativity, love, and security to your child.
I have experience staying with children full-time, over weekends and part-time. I will take them on walks, to and from lessons and practices, assist with homework, music practice, meal prep and general household duties. I am fluent in German, have a current passport. Adult and infant CPR certified. First aid.
 
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Essex, MA?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Essex’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Essex Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in Massachusetts?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Essex?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?