Hockessin, DE
10 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
 
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!

Hockessin, DE Nannies

Courtney B. - Seeking Work in Hockessin

14.28 / hour
Full-time hours

I have worked for a few different child care facilities as well as a private nanny for three different families. Each experience different in their own way. I have worked with multiples as well as large families and infants start as young as 6 weeks old.
Lauren B. - Seeking Work in Hockessin

22.85 / hour

I have 2 Bach. Degrees in Child Development & Early Education. I babysat throughout high school and every summer since I can remember, even as an adult. All through out college I worked for a family full time with 2 small children as a nanny. I have worked full time for 3 other families since and many families on an "as needed" basis. I work on education, development, language, tactile stimulation, auditory and movement stimulation such as reading and dancing (depending on the ages of the children) as well as having fun every day no matter what age the child is! I have a "Masters Degree" in fun!! I have a fun personality by nature. I am very patient and don't believe in yelling or any force as a form of discipline. I am an excellent communicator with children and parents alike. Whatever your style of family life and discipline are, will quickly become my own with your children. I believe in consistent positive reinforcement with children. Huge and love mean a lot to a child when Mom can't be home. I leave the lines open for children (older) to talk to me as a friend and confidant, but I don't cross the lines when I know the parents should be their first line of communication. My goal with families is to always be a fun, motivating, clean and consistent force in the home while my efforts are needed. When they are not, you are in charge as parents and I am out of site. I was raised with a sister with special needs. She is still my first priority and her care is always important to me. I know what it takes to manage behavioral difficulties, learning disabilities and physical challenges. I have been an active coach with Special Olympics for many years, and my education choice was chosen because of my sister and my close relationship with her. I'm a creative, artistic, highly motivated and extremely organized and clean woman who LOVES children more than anything else in the world. I have fun in even the mundane tasks in a day and adore hanging out and listening to children. I love to laugh and try very hard to live each day to the fullest. Cheers!
Margareth M. - Seeking Work in Hockessin

20.00 / hour
Full-time hours

My first time job was as a live in nanny, taking care of a newborn , witch I learned with a nurse for 2 weeks. I was a live n for Barbara and William. I took care of the baby for 2 years. For the first two weeks I learned to take care of the baby with a nurse. Duties include feeding, cooking, sterilinzing bottles, taking care of umbelical cord diaper changing, waking up in the midle of the night to make Barbara’s life easier so she wouldn’t be tired to go to work next day, going out shopping with baby and Barbara, traveling to the beach and to Florida. Developed loving bouding with family and specially baby. I had a very good experience with them. We remained friends to this day. I did all relared work to the baby.
Ana  - Seeking Work in Hockessin

22.85 / hour

I used work for my host family. Taking care of 2 kids, a boy 13 and a girl 10. They have lots of activities so I had to drive them most of the time. Take to school, doctor's appointment, pack lunch, get breakfast ready, make dinner, laundry, tidy their rooms, etc.
Carina - Seeking Work in Hockessin

8.91 / hour

Nowadays I am living in Delaware taking care a couple of beautiful twins. Unfortunately, I have to live them because I going to go to college next year close to Fort Lauderdale, that is why I am looking for a part time job.
Chelsea  J. - Seeking Work in Hockessin

22.85 / hour
Full-time hours

I have been a babysitter for numerous families since age 12. I got a full time job at a daycare post high school graduation and worked there with each age group for six months before becoming a full time nanny. I have been a nanny for four years.
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Hockessin, DE?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Hockessin’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Hockessin Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in Delaware?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Hockessin?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?
Popular Searches in Hockessin, DE