Newark, DE
33 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!

Newark, DE Nannies

Kayla G. - Seeking Work in Newark

8.57 / hour
Full-time hours

I have extended experience obtained from three different daycare facilities, in addition to a few years as a personal nanny to toddler twins. I am First Aid and CPR certified with multiple acquired ECE certifications. I take pride in working with children and know that I am not just a babysitter but play a huge part in helping to broaden the minds of our eager little learners.
Christina M. - Seeking Work in Newark

22.85 / hour
Full-time hours

I have been working with children for the past 7 years starting when I was sixteen. When I first began watching children, it was for neighbors and friends of the family. At seventeen, I started working at the xx as a summer camp counselor. I continued being a camp counselor for the next 2 years. During the school year I was an after care counselor for the after-care program. My freshman year in college, I took a year off of work. I continued caring for children my sophomore year where I was an after school caregiver for an eight year old boy for a year. My duties involved helping with homework, organizing activities, and preparing a snack. In 2011, I started working for a local babysitting company that placed sitters with families for short term babysitting jobs as well as long term placement jobs. With this company, I have had 3 long-term placements and have worked with many different families and children between the ages of 3 months to 14 years. My most recent long term position was working with a family doing household chores, assisting with homework, carpooling and preparing meals when needed. I worked with this family for about a year and half. I am currently looking for a full-time position.
Kimberly H. - Seeking Work in Newark

11.42 / hour

I am currently a graduate student studying psychology, and I have always loved working with children. As I finish up my graduate studies, I am looking for babysitting opportunities to fill up my free time on nights and weekends. I have been babysitting since I was ten years old, originally babysitting a set of twins (beginning at age 1) and their older brother (beginning at age 4). I babysat this family for a period of eight years. When working with this particular family, I provided care for weekend nights, as well as eight hours of care each weekday over the summer. I helped to tutor the eldest child in mathematics during my time with them and helped the twins learn how to share, get along with others, and walk. As I worked with the twins since a very young age, I also played a role in developing their vocabulary and in potty training. I also babysat on and off throughout the course of my undergraduate and graduate education. Most recently, I babysat for an adorable two-year-old little girl with developmental delays. While working with her, I provided opportunities for education while spending time with her in order to help her develop both her verbal skills and ability to walk. I have clearances from the FBI and a clean Child Abuse History (paperwork can be provided if requested).
Mariah A. - Seeking Work in Newark

11.42 / hour
Full-time hours

I have had much experience with children! I worked at a summer family camp this past summer where I was a lifeguard and I taught preschool! I know many crafts and fun things to do with your kids! Though I only taught preschool, I often played with the older children as well on the beach and at activities the camp would hold. I also worked with infants on nights they needed child care. I have a love for children and promised to be dedicated in your child's life! I also have done many Vacation Bible Schools and worked as an intern at a child care center! Lastly, throughout high school and college I have babysat for families!
Katherine P. - Seeking Work in Newark

17.14 / hour
Full-time hours

I have been working with children for 15 years. I have experience with all age groups from 3 weeks to 16 years. I have worked with 3 families in long-term situations, but have lost touch with one of them over the years. I have also worked in various daycares and preschools.
Lexi S. - Seeking Work in Newark

14.28 / hour

I have babysat for multiple families with number of children ranging between 1 and 5.
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Newark, MD?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Newark’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Newark Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in Maryland?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Newark?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?
Popular Searches in Newark, DE