Alachua, FL
13 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
 
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!

Alachua, FL Nannies

Trisica B. - Seeking Work in Alachua

14.28 / hour
Full-time hours

I have nannied for one single mom at the time. The child was 3 and I was off and on until she was 13 years of age. I also nannied for a year for another family, two boys, one 15 years old and the other 7 years of age. I have babysat for family members - friends and various other families for 22 years now. I also was a teachers assistant for 2 years at a montessori school in Nevada and a teachers assistant for aprox. a year in Gainesville, Florida. I am educated on the laws and requirements in caring for children. Through working in schools the age range I worked with was 3 years of age to 5 years of age. I love children and enjoy working with children and the family and miss it a great deal. I do become easily attatched so I'm looking for something long term.
Liza D. - Seeking Work in Alachua

15.00 / hour
Full-time hours
27 yrs of experience

Hello.
I am a retired nurse living in Gainesville with my husband. My son will be graduating from UF this spring and my daughter also lives in Gainesville. I volunteer as a Guardian Ad Litem, enjoy gardening and the outdoors. I would love to have a little kiddo to share my time with. We would talk, play, be outside, read, and keep busy together. Go for walks, and overall be highly interactive and attentive to the little ones needs. I believe little ones need a lot of attention and should be comforted and held if they cry. I guess I would be like an energetic loving grandma!
Amber C. - Seeking Work in Alachua

10.00 / hour
Full-time hours
< 1 yr of experience

I love children and im family oriented. I love doing arts and crafts playing educational games, or helping with home work. I am very organized and i like things to stay as clean and as sanitary as possible. I habe experience with ages 5 mo & up. I also love animals!
Alexis W. - Seeking Work in Alachua

10.00 / hour
Full-time hours
3 yrs of experience

I’m 17 and love babysitting kids. I grew up working in a daycare that my mom owned
Wayne - Seeking Work in Alachua

22.85 / hour

I've been around infants and up since five years of age. I grew up with my younger sister Jessica (5 years younger) and two nephews Chase and Colin (now ages 10 and 14). Spending on average one weekend a month with both nephews for about 5 years after they moved back to California from Connecticut. I lived in California for 16 years and did child care work for our church weekly as a high school student, both paid and volunteer. I also worked summers with the Vacation Bible School children my Mother taught. I've babysat my nephews (my oldest brother Micheal's boys) countless times and have become quite adequate at meeting the fundamental needs of children of any age. I am versed in diapers and hygiene as necessary, bottle feeding, proper bed time, active play and exercise, nutritious foods, dedicated focus on homework and studies, creative learning and thinking, arts, crafts, music, and providing them all possible chances to grow by allowing them "big boy" or "big girl" tasks according to their age and ability-- anything to get them away from the TV. When my immediate family moved to Florida, I babysat two children in a family of four over the course of a year. Responsibilities included picking them up from school, helping with homework, engaging in all sorts of fun inside and outside the home, all the while helping them grow into upstanding young ones. When I came to the University of Florida, studying and service jobs (server, busser, bartender) became the focus of income. After I moved to the university my parents moved to North Carolina to be near my other older brother Mark and his wife Heidi (Mark is thirteen years into the military). My older sister Michelle and her husband Pablo also moved to North Carolina from California about three years ago with their two children, my niece and nephew (Ashley and Samuel). Every time I visit (since I've had to be away from Chase and Colin still in California), these two little ones are wonderful to be around. I hang out with them as much as possible when I am visiting family there. My brother Mark has recently had a little girl Katelyn (making the final count 2 nieces, 3 nephews, 2 older brothers, one older sister, one younger sister), and I had a chance to see her about a month ago. I am currently studying Mechanical Engineering at UF under the 100% Bright Futures Scholarship (currently a 3.52 GPA with 116 completed credits). Funny enough, I started as an English major, and am working my hardest to complete a more technically oriented degree for a more promising future. I have been in Gainesville for four years now, but am still a couple years away from graduation. This past year has been difficult in settling down with a major that I am comfortable in, and I am currently working out what the best course of action will be for completion. This is where childcare comes in, to give me a chance to work with children again instead of the service industry, or for a company. I need a chance to work out the next stage of my life and I feel working with children would allow me the reflection time I need to clarify my priorities and decide a path that's right for me, especially in the rapidly changing world around us.
Kayla - Seeking Work in Alachua

8.57 / hour

I have had a broad babysitting background starting with my younger cousins and family friends. I then put ads in the newspaper to be a part time care taker and took care of two boys for a summer. I am also currently working at Kids College in the infant room.
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Alachua, FL?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Alachua’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Alachua Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in Florida?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Alachua?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?
Popular Searches in Alachua, FL