Berry, KY
1 nanny near you

Find Nannies in your area
 
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!

Berry, KY Nannies

Elaine M. - Seeking Work in Berry

8.57 / hour

I have successfuly parented a son and a daughter who are now productive adults living on their own. I started babysitting at age thirteen and have literally been involved in children's lives ever since! I have been a teacher's aide in a handicapped preschool class for 1 1/2 yrs.during which time I attended a number of training classes pertaining to preschoolers: communicable diseases, recognizing child abuse,arts/crafts and teaching/training in a classroom setting; I have taught children of all ages in Sunday school and have provided childcare in my home for children ages newborn - 13 yrs. of age during my own children's childhoods. I have nannied for a number of families with elementary age school children, a baby girl (began age 7 mos. - 2 1/2 yrs.) until her family moved west, worked at a Daycare in the infant room. I have provided care for an eight month old baby girl while her Belgium parents were living in Cincinnati while in the States on a work assignment. That position lasted eight months. Their family was transfered to N.Y, N.Y. I maintain a wonderful friendship with them to this day, having provided childcare for them during their couple's vacations. I am, very happily, a grandmother to two boys (ages 8 and 2.5 years) and to a girl, 7 years old. I have provided care for all of my grandchildren on a regular basis for years. I have provided care for two boys, ages 3 and 2 years, twin baby boys for two different families. I maintain a close friendship with these families to this day. I am CPR/First Aid certified for adults, children and infants; and I have been trained how to respond in the event of choking in adults, children and infants via University Hospital in Cincinnati, OH and the American Red Cross in Falmouth, Kentucky. I have excellent childcare/work references, a clean driving record and am trustworthy. Besides providing excellent care I can also tutor children in reading, spelling, writing and art.I believe children color our world in ways that nothing else matches and that they are worthy of our greatest care and love. I enjoy helping them develope via reading to them, art, play, good nutrition and rest periods.
 
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Berry, KY?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Berry’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Berry Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in Kentucky?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Berry?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?