Covington, KY
16 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
 
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!

Covington, KY Nannies

Kasey M. - Seeking Work in Covington

17.14 / hour
Full-time hours

If chosen to meet with you & your family & eventually work with your family I would be coming to you with over ten years experience with kids. I started working for a family as a weekend babysitter when I was 12. Little did I know it would be so much more than that in the years to come. At first they just had a 3 yr old but in a few years they had another addition. The summer I was 15 I watched Trey who was now 6 and Tucker who was 2 months old. I watched them 3 days a week from 7:30-5:00 and watched them as usual on the weekends. A few years later they adopted Mia from Korea at 6 months old. I watched them until I graduated college. I now have been to graduations, first communions & other activities that I still take part in over the years. I have watched Trey grow from a 3 year old little boy into a 20 year old great, bright, college guy. When people would ask if I have kids I used to say "sure I do, three great kids, even if they aren't my own". From the time I was 16 years old until 22 years old I was a lifeguard at our local country club pool. I received my lifeguarding certification, CPR, and firstaid. I also taught swim lessons on the side. During this time I had numerous references by word of mouth for me to watch children from the families that belonged to the club. Most of my evenings & weekends were taken up by watching kids from the pool. If I wasn't at the pool working I was up there on days off just to play with the kids, or was at someone's house. After college I did work for a while in the financial business but came across the opportunity to help a family in need. This family was recommended to me. The dad was a pilot for Delta & the mom had just passed away. They had no family here. There were 4 kids, 4, 8, 12, & 16. Three boys and one girl. Since their dad traveled, I would stay 3-4 days a week when he was gone. I would take the kids to school, carpool, take them to games & practices, cook & clean, plus help with homework. On an average monthly basis, I spent about 15 days a month with them. Because of them losing their mom, the 16 year old had the hardest time. It got to the point that their father & I both decided I may not be the best fit at that time. They were a wonderful family to work with. I, too lost my mom about a year before they had so I knew & understood what they were going through. I still hear from the kids and they let me know how they're doing & what's going on in their life. About a year and a half ago I answered an ad on my church's website. It was a single mother looking for a sitter for her son, occasional nights during the week and on the weekend for date night. Diego is now 5, and an absolute joy to be around. I love the atmosphere when I'm with him. We play games, cards, watch movies and have a lot of fun and a lot of laughs. His mom Noreli and I have also gotten to be good friends. I was looking for a little something else in my life and something to do with my time on the weekends and I can't find anything I'd rather be doing. About two years ago I lost my job. I told Noreli and she recommended me to a friend of hers looking for a nanny. This is where I met the next family. Grayson is 4 and Tatum is 18 months. I initially started working just a couple days a week then transitioned to 4 ten hour days. I would get Grayson up for school, fix breakfast, get him dressed and ready for the bus. Then I'd get Tatum up, dressed & breakfast and then we just played. Grayson would get home about 12:30 & while I fed Tatum lunch I'd give Grayson a snack. They both took afternoon naps. While they napped, I'd clean the kitchen, tidy up & pick up the basement. Afternoons we'd play with puzzles, games, and toys. After the first of the year the Gabbards decided to have Deana's mom watch the kids. She got laid off in October and had the time and they wanted to save the money. The money was a big issue for them. Most recently I have worked for a family of 3 kids ages 11-14 as a Nanny/House Manager/Personal Assistant. I handled all after school activities, carpooling, cooking dinner, running errands, going to the grocery, all household things and was a personal assistant to a Dr. As the children have been getting older the family's needs have changed and they don't need a full-time nanny anymore.
Amy Therese M. - Seeking Work in Covington

14.28 / hour
Full-time hours

I have several, 10+, years of Nanny experience. I am a mature, age 62, loving, caring, compassionate, disciplinary and dependable Nanny. I am available to start work immediately as of 09/27/16. I have two grown children, ages 32, and 34, two wonderful daughters-in-law, and one 9-year old granddaughter. I love working with families and children.
Nicole S. - Seeking Work in Covington

11.42 / hour
Full-time hours

I have 3 yrs experience in daycare caring for all ages of children from infant to school age children. I primarily worked in the one yr old room and with a helper had up to 12 children at one time. by myself, I had up to 6. I would feed them breakfast/lunch, change diapers, have circle time, play outside, and put them down for naps. I loved circle time because that's when we taught the children all their shapes, colors, animals, animal sounds, read books, and sing songs!
Amy S. - Seeking Work in Covington

17.14 / hour
Full-time hours

I began my childcare career as an assistant teacher at a montessori preschool. While there I received 12 months of training in Early Childhood Education & Development. I have been a nanny for 11 years, with infant and twin experience.
Hadley M. - Seeking Work in Covington

8.57 / hour
Full-time hours

I've been a nanny for two different families. One family with a baby, the other with 3 children from 6-13 yrs old I am currently working in a daycare with ages ranging from 6 weeks-8yrs old. I love ever minute of it.
Hannah K. - Seeking Work in Covington

7.83 / hour

I have worked in a child development certain for a year. I have experience with child from the ages of 6 months to 5 years.
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Covington, OH?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Covington’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Covington Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in Ohio?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Covington?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?
Popular Searches in Covington, KY