Grand Rapids, MI
54 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
 
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!

Grand Rapids, MI Nannies

Greg D. - Seeking Work in Grand Rapids

22.85 / hour

Over the past 7 years I have worked on and off as a live-in caregiver. It consisted of three long term jobs and other families on a short term basis. Three families were great and I have worked with and helped children in different healthcare and fitness settings. For roughly 16 months 24/7 I assisted an elderly gentleman(92) who had mild, moderate and then more severe dementia. I moved twice with the family from Wichita, KS to Aiken, SC to Burnsville, NC. In addition I looked after the house as the daughter traveled often. The father was eventually admitted into a Nursing Home. In addition from JAN 2010 to DEC 2011 I worked for and lived with a Medical Student, his wife & 4 children in The University of South Dakota Region . I helped take care of their 4 young children (3 girls and 1 boy)(6 months to 6 years of age), two dogs and one cat. I also helped keep their house clean,cooked dinner and I also did a great deal of yard work. I also assisted a family in Central New Jersey with their 10 year old Special Needs son for 8 months while the mother looked after her ill sister in South Jersey and the father traveled worldwide in his job. Additional Experience: ***8 Summers Special Needs Residential Camps(xx Camps) Ages 5-95 Years ***Assisted a housemate in Pittsburgh, PA in 2007 with her 2 year old daughter in exchange for reduced rent. ***Worked for a xx in Florida as a caregiver in 1996-97. Children ages 2-12 came from very abusive and neglectful homes and were in transition of being adopted through the Florida Haven. Additional information: ***Assisted a 92 year old Retired Physician (General Surgeon) whom I met working as a Physical Therapy Aide in Wichita Falls, TX. ***Also assisted a former Assistant Surgeon General who was 95 years of age when I worked at Big Bend National Park, Texas in 2005. ***Worked as Physical Therapy Aide(No Degree Required)Rehab. Hospital, in Wichita Falls,TX (Worked with all age groups) Floor(Ambulation & Balance), Mat(Supine position) & Aquatics Therapy. ***Worked as an Occupational Therapy Aide in Nursing Home located in Gate City, VA ***Massage Therapist & Personal Fitness Trainer(Normal Profession) 10 plus years: Have worked with individuals of all ages and all levels of Physical & Mental Capability. Many Seniors while living in Florida (Daytona Beach & The Space Coast) ***Education: Completed 2/3 BS Degree in Exercise Science/Pre-Physical Therapy ***Minor in Psychology: Intro To Psych, Child Psych, Adolescent Psych, Developmental Psych, Human Sexuality, Abnormal Psych, Social Psych & Health Psych. ***Formerly Certified Nursing Assistant in 2009 ***Currently Certified in Adult/Pediatric First Aid & CPR/AED
Ashley N. - Seeking Work in Grand Rapids

14.28 / hour
Full-time hours

Most recently I have been nannying in California. I nannied for the summer in Los Angeles for a family with a newborn, 4 year old and 6 year old. I am currently nannying in San Francisco for twin four year old boys and a seven year old boy. Previous I was substitute teaching in elementary schools in Michigan. Prior to that, while I was receiving my degree in Elementary Education I was a student teacher in a kindergarten classroom for six months. I teacher assisted in a third grade classroom for four months. I worked at a summer camp here in Michigan for four years. I filled the positions as an outdoor education counselor for large groups of girl scouts, as a summer overnight camp counselor for ages ranging 6-16, and also I served as the Arts and Crafts Specialist in 2013. I have worked at a before school program, taking care of children early in the morning before the school day began. I have worked at a zoo as a Guest Program Facilitator which allowed me to interact with the guest and engage them with the exhibits. I have been a babysitter starting at 14 years old and continued to do that throughout my years. My experience has allowed me to take care of groups ranging from single children to groups of 100 children at a time.
Erin L. - Seeking Work in Grand Rapids

17.14 / hour
Full-time hours

Accountable for taking care of children and their schedules, carry out overall house hold tasks. Managed all aspects of monthly financial duties including bookkeeping, paying bills and managing budget. Organized all house hold activities and maintained home for family members; instructed children in activities designed to promote social, emotional, and intellectual growth. Performed household budget administration, while scheduling the budget for expenditures. Maintained entire house, cooked the meals, cleaned the dishes and laundry, and kept the house neat and clean. I have been a nanny for 17 years. I have had multiples, special needs, infants, toddlers, and school age kids.
Peyton B. - Seeking Work in Grand Rapids

17.14 / hour

I started babysitting when I was 14 years old for my neighbors when they went out on dates. Theirs kids were ages 3 to 10. When I was 15 and 16 I babysat for my friends sisters new born while she went to work or needed a night out. When I was 17 until now I took care of three kids under the age of 5(weekly). In the summer (full time) I watched two boys ages 7 and 13 and their four pets while their parents were working. I would also house-sit for them.
Susan C. - Seeking Work in Grand Rapids

14.28 / hour
Full-time hours

I have raised 4 children of my own plus 3 day care children also.All of my children are very well developed and mature adults with families of there own. I like to be very active with the children. I like to play outside with them and do many functions. So I would like to have a vehicle supplied for me and the children with seat belts and car seats so that we can go to the library on a weekly basis if not more. To go to near by parks and such. I like to teach them respect and morals and to treat each other as you would want to be treated. I love children and all that it entails in raising them. I feel that it is a gift that I am to share.
Sara S. - Seeking Work in Grand Rapids

22.85 / hour
Full-time hours

I strive to create a structured fun learning environment daily. I bond with the children earning their trust, and they know they can always count on me. I LOVE to cook (mostly healthy) and i am a very clean person. I am organized and quite good at multitasking. Bonus! I will teach your kids how to swim (I am a swimmer myself)
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Grand Rapids, MI?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Grand Rapids’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Grand Rapids Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in Michigan?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Grand Rapids?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?
Popular Searches in Grand Rapids, MI