Mentor, OH
18 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
 
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!

Mentor, OH Nannies

Kimberly W. - Seeking Work in Mentor

22.85 / hour
Full-time hours

I graduated from Indiana University of Pennsylvania with a Bachelors of Science. My degree is Child Development and Family Studies with a minor in Educational Psychology. I am a fun loving, caring, and open-minded person that believes in being very responsible, dependable and a hard worker. I believe the key component for children's growth and learning is through playful imagination, creativity, and exploration. Children need to be respected and recognized for their importance as individuals. Children grow by how they develop emotionally, socially, and cognitively. With time, I will develop a relationship with the child that will gain trust and view me as a teacher. With the diverse characteristics of children, each brings new opportunities. I've been working in child care for ten years and have found it very rewarding. I have been a nanny for three years. My daily routine would be making sure the children have nutritious meals and snacks. I coordinate a variety of creative and educational activities, we love spending time playing outdoors such as playing sports or playing with chalk and going on a nature walk. I feel play dates is a great opportunity for the children to engage in play with other children. I transport the children to school, play dates, library, zoo, drum lesson, ski lesson, swimming lesson, etc. My skills include laundry, preparing meals, cleanings dishes, and vacuuming. During the nanny experience I have found that cleaning with the children and making it a "game" is important for child development and prepares them for growing up.
Jessica P. - Seeking Work in Mentor

11.42 / hour

I have been babysitting since I was 12 years old, watching all of my younger sisters friends/family. I was a babysitter/nanny for a new family in the neighborhood and helped raise their two beautiful children and help out whenever they needed with anything. I also became the 'go-to' babysitter for all the young children in the neighborhood. I was recently a full time nanny for a year for an infant and a toddler. I have experience with everything that an infant brings along; diapers, bottles, feedings, naps, crawling, walking, playtime etc. as well as potty training, reading and anything that a child needs!
Natalie H. - Seeking Work in Mentor

14.28 / hour

I have worked for three summers at a summer day camp as a counselor. I have had both boys and girls and the ages have ranged from 5 years old to 9 years old and groups of about 8 children. I have also babysat for some of the families from my camp and some neighborhood families. Those ages were anywhere from newborn to 12 years old. I also student teach in a toddler classroom, so I am with 14 children ages 18 months to 3 years, so I have a lot of diaper changing experience!
Diana W. - Seeking Work in Mentor

20.00 / hour
Full-time hours

I've been a nanny for the past 12 years. I enter a child's life when he or she is an infant, and usually stay when the parents are ready to put the child into school.
Dia G. - Seeking Work in Mentor

17.14 / hour
Full-time hours

I graduated from a nanny school 25 yrs ago and have held full time nannies position since. I currently care for 15 yr old triplets.. I have been with them since they were 14 mos old.
Kirsten W. - Seeking Work in Mentor

22.85 / hour

I have many years of experience with childcare. I have watched infants, toddlers, and older. I am great with all ages! I became very close with the mother I was a live-in nanny for. She asked me over short-notice when she needed to run to the store or out for a sudden emergency, any situation, I was there. I also would go shopping, do laundry, help with dinner. Anything she needed I was right there for her.
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Mentor, OH?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Mentor’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Mentor Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in Ohio?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Mentor?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?
Popular Searches in Mentor, OH