Allentown, PA
63 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
 
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!

Allentown, PA Nannies

Kayla W. - Seeking Work in Allentown

7.25 / hour
Full-time hours

I was watching 2 kids a little girl around the age of 5 and her brother was 4. I would watch them during the week from the hours 3-12pm. In the summertime I would take them to the water parks or the pool. On rainy days we would stay in and watch movies, play games, read books. During school time the 5 year old was in preschool so after school we would work on homework if there was some. The hours I worked for this family would change time to time. I watched these kids for about 3 years and then the family didn't need me no more because the mother didn't have no more work. The other family I watched there was also 2 kids one girl and one boy. (Girl 5)(boy 4). I would watch thdm during the week and on weekends they would sleep over my house. During the week i would have them from 12- 6 p.m i watched them for about 3 years and currently still watch them on weekends from time to time. I also would watch my sister when my mom needed to work. I was about 11 and my little sister was about 5 when I started watching her for my mom. My mother was a single parent so she didn't have much help from my dad so I would do her the favor and help her out by watching my sister.
Danielle D. - Seeking Work in Allentown

17.14 / hour
Full-time hours

I have a ton of childcare experience! I have a younger sister, age 5, whom I've watched her whole life. I have two younger brothers and an older sister with a learning disability, whom I've also had to take care of from time to time. I teach a class of 5-6 year olds at the church that I attend; and I've also volunteered at a while I was at school in Idaho. A few of the babysitting experiences I've had are taking care of an autistic child to watching a family of 5 girls, all under age 9. I love children! I've worked with all kinds--autistic, very hyper, calm and shy, and more. I enjoy spending time with kids and would like to describe myself as a patient and fun, but firm person when it comes to my authority with kids.
Sonia C. - Seeking Work in Allentown

22.85 / hour
Full-time hours

My childcare experience began as I was babysitting neighborhood children at the age of 12. Upon graduating high school I provided care for 2 families as a live out nanny. One family had 2 school age children and the other family had 3 school age children. My duties with both families included housekeeping. I worked as a teacher's aide for 3 years. To be home with my own children I decided to provided care in my home. As a licensed provider I cared for all ages of children and continued doing this for 15 years. During this time I obtained a CDA (child development associate) credential, some college credits in early childhood education, first aid, CPR, fire safety, and many other childcare related trainings. Upon raising my own children, I decided to be a nanny again providing care for a family of 2 school age children. My duties include housekeeping, Dr. appointments, sports activities,playdates and family errands. I also volunteered at the children's school.
Samantha G. - Seeking Work in Allentown

20.00 / hour
Full-time hours

I'm currently working in the medical field but was a head preschool teacher for 8 years. My educational background is in Early Childhood Education. I have all my clearances and FBI finger prints. I have many educational tools such as lesson plans, activities, arts and crafts, etc. I have a wonderful, well behaved 4 year old daughter who would be accompanying me. She's a great helper and gets along very well with other children. I've worked with children from infants all the way up to school age. I'm one of 7 children myself and I've been babysitting since I was 13.
Quaicha M. - Seeking Work in Allentown

8.57 / hour

Since i was thirteen I started babysitting for various of people around my town. I baby sat from infant all the way up to seven years old for almost six years.
Lillie L. - Seeking Work in Allentown

8.57 / hour

My past experience in childcare is taking care of my three siblings when they were infants to teens so my m parents could go back to work. I also took care of my brain injured niece from 7 yrs old until her death at 14 years. I have taken care of several of my nieces & nephews through out many years.
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Allentown, NJ?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Allentown’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Allentown Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in New Jersey?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Allentown?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?
Popular Searches in Allentown, PA