East Greenwich, RI
13 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
 
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!

East Greenwich, RI Nannies

Meaghan D. - Seeking Work in East Greenwich

22.85 / hour

My experience with taking care of children began at the age of 13 when I was entrusted to watch over my toddler brother while my parents were at work. Around the age of 15 I started babysitting for numerous families with children ages ranging from 3 to 8. Forming bonds with these children came naturally to me. At this time I had been regularly babysitting for a family which had twin six year old boys. These were extremely active six year olds and I was constantly on the go bringing them to various sports and pastime locations. They were involved in recreational soccer and karate, attended school, and enjoyed the outdoors and going places. I remained with the family until I was 18 & had to leave to attend college. After adapting to the college life, I realized I had extra time that I could use to watch children. When I was 19 I was introduced to a first time mother with 3 month old boys; again I was happily watching twins. At first it was not an easy, due to the mother of these beautiful baby boys being very protective, but she easily got used to having me be the caregiver of her children. She could tell I was very serious about the well being of these infants. I quickly got used to making organic baby food, bottle feeding, burping them, getting spit up on, diaper changes, etc. I am now 27 and up until my recent decision of becoming a nanny I have been with the family taking care of the twins. I have not only watched the boys physically grow from infants to toddlers but have also experienced what its like to interact and help children develop with a healthy mindset. I had learned these practices through the college major I have started pursing. I completed my junior year at the University of Rhode Island. I love interacting with children so I knew my major was going to be Human Development & Family Studies (HDF) which focuses mainly on early childhood development and developmentally appropriate practices. This includes, but not limited to, the theories of child development, paying special attention to strengths & weaknesses of each child and learning the child's cultural background as defined by the family structure. I am a child caregiver whom practices nurturing a child's social/emotional, physical, and cognitive development needs and I would love to talk further with you.
Jordan W. - Seeking Work in East Greenwich

14.28 / hour
Full-time hours

I have been babysitting since I was 11 years old, I have a 21 year old brother and a 16 year old sister. I started by helping care for them with my mother while I was growing up. When I was 11 I started doing mother's helper around my neighborhood and then began babysitting for a few families. All throughout high school and college my main source of income was babysitting. For a few different families over the years, I got the children ready for school and picked them up for school, I also did full time child care during the summers for these families.
Patricia  G. - Seeking Work in East Greenwich

14.28 / hour
Full-time hours

I have a BA in Early Childhood education. I am a certified Montessori Directress. I taught in schools in Barrington and East Providence, Rhode Island. Licensed 30 years with the state of Rhode Island to run a Daycare meeting all the Early Childhood education requirements and Health and Safety regulations.
Lisa D. - Seeking Work in East Greenwich

11.42 / hour

I have raised two sons as well as caring for four grandchildren. I have also taught children for over twenty years from preschool to High School. I have been a nanny for a nine mos. old girl up to a 9 year old boy.
Lauren B. - Seeking Work in East Greenwich

22.85 / hour
Full-time hours

I started off as a mothers helper at 13. Then at 15 I started babysitting. When I graduated high school in 2010 I became a full time nanny- it is one of the most rewarding jobs I've had!
Rachel C. - Seeking Work in East Greenwich

20.00 / hour
Full-time hours

For years I have enjoyed working with children ranging from full time nanny positions to working with a disabled services organization and a camp in their summer program. I have a BA in Communication and am currently in graduate school. I find helping people one of the biggest gratifications in life.
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in East Greenwich, RI?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of East Greenwich’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective East Greenwich Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in Rhode Island?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in East Greenwich?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?
Popular Searches in East Greenwich, RI