Columbia, SC
118 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
 
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!

Columbia, SC Nannies

Kelsey  B. - Seeking Work in Columbia

22.85 / hour

I have been a babysitter for the past 5 years on and off. The kids that I tend to babysit are very active, love going outside and riding bikes or going to the park. I allow the child to help schedule the day to fit in not only what the parent wants to be complete but things the child wants to do or deems important to them. I hate when kids just sit in front of a TV or video game all day so I try to get the kids out and be active as much as possible, with the occasional down time because we all need a break. I love children of all ages, i have cared for kids from infancy to age 10 and older (siblings) so I know how to juggle kids from different age ranges. I very rarely care for just one kid at a time so I am very use to having multiple kids to care for and make happy.
Jhabriella-Amber H. - Seeking Work in Columbia

17.14 / hour
Full-time hours

Hi! My name is Jhabriella xx Its Russian for Brown Angel. kids call me Ms.Jabi (Gabby). I live in Lake Carolina which is on the northeast side of Columbia ,SC. I was a Preschool Teacher during the school year and a Preschool Camp Counselor for this following summer. I have 8 yrs of experience working with children from Infants to 9 yr olds. I have a High School Diploma of as a member of the National Honors Art Society I love , love art!! My favorite thing besides art is reading. My favorite children's book is the "Elephant and Piggie" series by Mo Williems. I attended Clark Atlanta University (Atlanta, GA) and Coastal Carolina University (Conway, SC) for a Bachelors of Education, Early Childhood Education degree. I am currently attending Ocean County College online( Toms River,NJ) in a degree of Teachers Aide I am an Adult & Pediatric Heart Saver/AED and Pediatric First Aid certified by the CSRA Trauma Society. I am also CAP (Child Abuse Prevention) Certified. Here s a little bit about me I speak Spanish & English fluently and a little French, Arabic. I have a pet Norwegian Forest Cat named Taylor. I have my own car his name is Mr.Sunshine and he is a VW Bug Convertible , he's yellow and the kids love to Call him Bumblebee because of his Autobot emblems. My favorite animal is frogs and my favorite color is green I love animals and have no problem working with them if you have any pets. I am also not a smoker.
Virginia Boyd  T. - Seeking Work in Columbia

22.85 / hour
Full-time hours

I started babysitting for a 6-month-old twins on my street when I was 13 and have been babysitting them since then. Throughout high school, I babysat for various families with 4 or less children and sometimes for the duration of the weekend. I also have two younger sisters that I grew up watching and taking care of when my parents needed me to. The summers after my freshman and sophomore years of college, I worked at an all girls camp in Alabama where I had a cabin of 8 10-year-old girls for two months and participated in activities with all of the other campers ages 8-16. This past summer I lived in Oxford, MS and nannied two boys under the age of 10 every weekday from 9-5.
Louisa E. - Seeking Work in Columbia

17.14 / hour
Full-time hours

I spent my last two years of high school babysitting for a family with one child, starting when he was 3 months old, and I loved it. Infant care is not a problem. I cared for twin newborns and worked for the family for about half a year before they moved. For the past three summers, I worked as a camp counselor and instructor for children ages 12-16, teaching them mostly scuba diving, sailing, marine biology, and responsibility. I have a passion for teaching children and helping them with skill building exercise. I am a big reader and love to do arts and crafts with the children I look after and I really encourage outdoor activities. I also have experience working with disabled children and adults. I attend a weekly book club that meets with about 15 children and adults with disabilities, teaching progressive reading and social skills, it is a passion of mine. I have taken two CPR classes for both newborns and young children, as well as your basic CPR class. I am very capable of helping with laundry, cooking, and any cleaning that needs to be done as well as homework help with any age. I was an English and Spanish tutor for high school students while I was in school. I am very patient with children, and I try my best to ensure that they feel safe and comfortable at all times all while having fun.
MacKenzie  W. - Seeking Work in Columbia

8.57 / hour
Full-time hours

I have a little brother that is 7 years younger than I am and often helped care for him while growing up. Additionally, I have 11 years of babysitting experience through family friends for several families, most of which have 2-3 children (all ages) that I would supervise at once. My most recent child care experience was through Care.com for a family of two children (ages 1-3 when I started) and had the privilege of working with this particular family for two years.
Gabrielle S. - Seeking Work in Columbia

22.85 / hour
Full-time hours

My last position was a live-out nanny for a toddler in South Carolina for a 1.5 year. I was also a live-out nanny for a year, caring for 3 children (ages 3, 5, and 8) in Virginia. I was a live-in nanny, in Maryland, for 5 years for a family with three children. I started when the youngest was 8 months and oldest was 3 years old. I was also a live-out nanny in graduate school for a family of three children, ages 9, 11, and 13. Furthermore, I babysat for five years for two children, one of which had cerebral palsy and was a quadriplegic (which is the equivalent of caring for an infant, can’t talk, walk or use bathroom). In addition, in college, I volunteered at a domestic violence shelter, working with children. I also worked as a teacher’s aide for two summers, once in an autistic elementary class and once in a first grade class. In high school, I volunteered at an elementary school, where I worked as a teacher's aide for a third grade class.
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Columbia, IL?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Columbia’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Columbia Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in Illinois?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Columbia?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?