Sophia, a Nanny for Hire in Baltimore, MD 21230

22.85
start: Aug 1, 2017
< 1 yr experience
Full-time
Live-out
Special needs
Driver’s License
Has car
English
Infant
Toddler
Preschooler
Grade-schooler

Gender Female

Age 29

Experience 6 years nanny 9 years babysitting

Skills Drivers License Car Swim

Can care for Disabilities Behavioral Issues Twins/Multiples

Availability Start Date Is Flexible

Position duration Permanent / Full-time, Permanent / Part-time

Would prefer to Live-out

Preferred states MD


I’m a nanny because I sincerely love working with kids. I have a variety of natural and acquired skills that make me a capable and enthusiastic care giver. Including crisis management, problem solving, creativity, compassion, and common sense. I have an endless imagination and a built-in affinity for care giving.


My past childcare experience I am a 27-year-old young woman with a love of kids of all shapes and sizes and a serious passion for learning everything there is to know. I started care-giving when my favorite T-shirt still had a cat on it (in other words, young). I learned how to take care of others over the course of 8 years in which time I helped to care for my mother who had been cognitively and physically disabled from brain cancer. Obviously this was a distinctly different kind of care than most child care but regardless of who one is taking care of, the necessary characteristics are constant; compassion, patience, problem-solving, and a good sense of humor. These were not just optional virtues, they were a lifestyle for my family. I still abide by that lifestyle. In terms of child care, I started babysitting for all the neighborhood families when I was 13 and consistently until I graduated High School. In addition, I operated as a nanny for two children, a 9-year-old girl and a 5-year-old boy (I had been their occasional babysitter for over 5 years as well) over their summer vacation in 2008. As an adult, in March 2012, I was the part-time nanny to three amazing young girls (twins who just turned 12 and their 16 year old sister who is a high-functioning epileptic). I am happy to say the girls and I are very close to this day; we truly enjoy our time together. I also spent a year (august 2012-august 2013)as the part-time nanny to a low-functioning and non-verbal Autistic 14 year-old girl. I remain very close with the teen as well as her mother. I retained incredibly valuable skills from that experience. From August 2014 to November 2016 I was a live-in nanny for two girls (aged 10 and 14) who both struggled with unique behavioral, social, and mental issues. The girls made great strides in my time with them and continue to do so. If being a nanny has taught me anything it is to be flexible, kind, and non-judgmental with kids as with life. All in all, I love caring for others. I don't remember a time when caring for someone else was not a part of my daily life.


Level of education Some College but Non-Graduate

Languages English

Nationality American

Child Care near Baltimore