Emily T. - Seeking Work in Chicago
Emily T. - Seeking Work in Chicago

Emily a Nanny for Hire in Chicago, IL 60622

14.28
start: Oct 19, 2015
< 1 yr experience
part-time
live-out
special needs
driver’s license
car
English
infant care
toddler care
preschooler care

Gender Female

Age 35

Experience 6 years nanny 10+ years babysitting

Skills Drivers License Car Swim

Can care for Disabilities Behavioral Issues Twins/Multiples

Availability Start Date Is Flexible

Position duration Permanent / Part-time

Would prefer to Live-out

Preferred states IL,TX


I’m a nanny because I am a Master's level clinical social worker and writer, as well as an avid student of yoga. I recently resigned from a full time position (as a program coordinator working with students and families in supportive SEL program in local elementary schools) to pursue yoga teacher training. I was a full time nanny all throughout my time as a graduate student and for two years after. I enjoy children very much and I feel that I benefit not only in the relevant professional exposure but in the wonderful energy that children offer. As I embark on a new path toward offering healing and peace to individuals and communities, spending my work time engaging with young children is the most attractive option for me.


My past childcare experience Coming from a large family and being the oldest for four children, I was always called upon when my aunts, uncles or cousins needed someone they could trust and with whom they knew their children would be safe and playfully engaged. My first job after completing my undergraduate career was as a Licensed DCFS Childcare Worker and in a residential group home for children ages 5 to 12. I gained extensive theoretical and practical experience about creating effective and nurturing environments for children to thrive and develop. From June 2008-May 2009 I was a nanny for two great families, one with a boy from 11 to 21 months and a girl from 3 to 9months. Last year, in my first year of graduate school, I interned at a shelter and developed and implemented afterschool and supplemental educational/recreational activities for the over forty children living in the facility. I have always worked well with kids of all ages and I enjoy nothing quite as much as the excitement of learning from a child as I help them explore the world. In June of 2013, I ended a wonderful four years of a full time nanny position where I cared for three amazing kids, currently ages eleven, nine, seven, and six. For 44 hours a week, I was responsible for all aspects of the M-F daily aspects of each child's schedule, discipline, development, nutrition, and safety. I provided tutoring for all three kids and drew from love of reading to instill that same passion in each of them.


Additional comments I was lucky to always have a grandmother or cousin as a babysitter when I was growing up. I realize the difficulty and anxiety that can go hand in hand with choosing and committing to a professional nanny. I would like any family I would potentially work for to know how seriously I take the position of caring for their child/children and that I consider my role in each child's life to be one of support, protection and facilitation of what the parents have chosen as the structure and philosophy they believe best suits their family. My creativity, experience and training will inform my interactions only as long as they agree with the needs of a particular family.


Level of education Other

Languages English

Nationality Other