Nannies > Iowa > Davenport
April N. - Seeking Work in Davenport
April N. - Seeking Work in Davenport

April a Nanny for Hire in Davenport, IA 52807

8.57
start: Nov 6, 2013
< 1 yr experience
part-time
live-out
special needs
driver’s license
car
English
infant care
toddler care
preschooler care
grade-schooler care

Gender Female

Age 29

Experience 10+ years nanny 10+ years babysitting

Skills Drivers License Car Swim

Can care for Twins/Multiples

Availability Start Date Is Flexible

Position duration No Preference, Temporary / Summer

Would prefer to Live-out

Preferred states IL,IA


I’m a nanny because Children, babies in particular, always seem to like me. I have always understood the inner workings of childrens' minds. I am extremely patient and nurturing. Watching and teaching children is so very rewarding, I just love it.


My past childcare experience I have been at least a part-time babysitter/nanny for nearly twelve years, ever since my older sister had her first child. Since then, I've watched at least one child once a week, and up to nine at a time, as often as every day. I've watched all ages alone, up to 17 years and as young as two weeks old. Although I prefer a one-on-one experience when it comes to babysitting children (so I can be sure they are always doing something fun and educational), I do not have any problems at all with sitting more than one child. It is always a number one priority to keep the children I sit safe and happy. The only way I would sit a child in front of the tv for longer than, say, long enough to do the dishes or tidy up, is if either the child or I were sick. In lieu of tv time, we will play games, color, bake together, go to the park if the weather permits, or whatever strikes us! If I am watching several children, I will place my main attention on the younger child(ren) and give them the the proper educational attention they need for their developing brains. That is not to say that I would ignore the older children at all. They would simply be given the space they tend to prefer. And if it became apparent that the child wanted more attention, s/he would be given it. I am a bit stern, but I find that the most fruitful punishment is an effective, age-appropriate length of time out and a stern talking-to if need be.


Additional comments I've always been very good with kids. I love coloring, watching Nick Jr., and baking. I get the most joy out of helping children learn about colors, numbers and shapes. I love teaching children and, at the risk of sounding cliche, I love what they teach have to teach us.


Level of education Some College but Non-Graduate

Languages English

Nationality American