Nannies > Colorado > Denver
Kristi M. - Seeking Work in Denver
Kristi M. - Seeking Work in Denver

Kristi a Nanny for Hire in Denver, CO 80203

driver’s license
infant care
special needs
toddler care

Gender Female

Age 36

Experience 8 years nanny 10+ years babysitting

Skills Drivers License Car Swim

Can care for Behavioral Issues Twins/Multiples

Availability Start Date Is Flexible

Position duration Permanent / Full-time, Temporary / Summer

Would prefer to Live-out

Preferred states CO

I’m a nanny because I want to continue being a nanny in Denver because I love the creativity and the reward of working with children. I believe when a child is nurtured one on one it is a very successful way of teaching, and I consider nannying equal parts intructing and caretaking. I want to expand my experience with children in any way I possibly can! Spending time with little ones if one of the most fulfilling things in the world for me.

My past childcare experience I have been working with children for many years, children of all ages and all developmental levels. While getting my degree at Towson University, I nannied part-time for Toby, a seven week old infant. I became more learned about food allergies, as he had several, as well as learning how to administer an epinepherin if necessary. As he got older I took him for walks and in the car to various activities. After gradutaing college, twins Matthew and Joseph were eight months old when I started working for Liz and James, and their older brother Jimmy was seven. With Jimmy attending school each day, my primary responsibility was for Matthew and Joseph from 8:15am to 5:15pm, Monday through Friday. The twins developed RSV at only a few months of age, a virus that causes lung and airway infections in infants and young children. When I began working with them, they still required frequent doctor visits and sometimes certain medications needed to be administered, which I was in charge of during my work hours. As Joseph got older he also developed asthma, and I was responsible for making sure he received steroids through a nebulizer as needed. My primary concerns, along with having fun and nourishing them, were geared toward development; tummy time, hand to mouth coordination when learning to feed themselves, walking, eventual potty training, etc. I fondly remember the time period when they were learning to climb up the stairs, and the pride on their faces when they would turn back to look at me as I walked behind them. As they got a little older we spent a great deal of time outdoors, either at the park or at their neighborhood swimming pool. They started out in the toddler area, but once potty trained, I was able to teach them how to swim in the adult pool. Very active and energetic, we played on the gymnasium equipment and they rode their tricycles around the neighborhood, or we kicked soccer balls around. Behavior issues were usually mild cases of sibling rivalry. I made sure both Matthew and Joseph received plenty of individual attention from me and redirected them to other activities when they got upset. As they grew older, encouraging them to use their words and communicate their feelings became a great way to solve problems. Being that they lived in a suburb of Baltimore, I had two car seats in my car at all times and we often drove to parks, doctor's offices or other areas of necessity or interest. I am fortunate enough to have maintained a very close connection with the Pessagnos over the years, and know I am like family to them, as they are to me. The twins were actually a part of my wedding in 2010! I began working for Larry and Aline in September 2009 (after moving to Philadelphia) when their twins, Jasper and Zoe, were seven weeks old. Their oldest son Milo was about to turn three. My schedule was 7:30am to 6pm, Monday through Friday. My duties and responsibilities were specific to the needs of two newborns and a toddler when I first started, but greatly changed over the course of my three years with them. For Jasper and Zoe I was responsible for their general and constant care, as well as working on their physical development as they began to grow; tummy time, moving to cereal and other appropriate foods, outings and walks to the park, speech development, reading, etc. My attention was devoted to Milo, as well, often taking him to the park, working on puzzles, listening to music and encouraging him to play his toy guitar, reading, speech development, using play doh and sticker books, etc. Music class was a regular activity for Jasper and Zoe when they were old enough, and Milo and I often took trips to the bookstore spending hours reading to each other. When behavioral issues arose between siblings or other children, my goal was to divert attention to something positive and redirect the children in my care, rather than use discipline such as time outs unless absolutely necessary. I was responsible for three meals every day for all three children, often gave them baths when I was asked to stay late, potty trained Milo and was working on potty training with Zoe and Jasper until my departure. I kept the common area, dining area, kitchen and children's rooms tidy, and was responsible for folding and putting away laundry, as well as making sure bed and crib sheets were regularly changed. Flexibility, patience, the ability to create fun and interesting play scenarios and a devotion to the well-being of Zoe, Jasper and Milo were essential ingredients to a happy and healthy household. Aside from these three specific families, I have worked at a daycare center where I was an assistant in the infant & toddler room, as well as with school-aged children. And during my summers while going to college, I cared for two older children (7 and 9), so I have a wide range of experience with activities and different levels of child development. I also worked at a school in Baltimore for children with Asperger's Syndrome and autism, all at varying levels on the spectrum. I worked with one of my students privately at her home to supplement her development in the school environment.

Additional comments I am a dedicated, loving & energetic caregiver with seven years nanny experience, as well as training for special needs. I have been infant and child CPR certified in the past and am willing to get certified again if needed. I pride myself in being highly organized with strong communication skills. My goal is to help children develop to their fullest potential by working with a family who will allow my strengths and passion for nurturing infants and toddlers to shine. I believe that children benefit from a consistent caregiver who deeply understands and cares about their individual needs.

Level of education College Degree

Languages English

Nationality American