Child Care > California > Los Angeles
Norma  Jean A. - Seeking Work in Los Angeles
Norma  Jean A. - Seeking Work in Los Angeles

Norma Jean a Nanny for Hire in Los Angeles, CA 90028

start: Jan 1, 2000
< 1 yr experience
special needs
driver’s license
infant care
toddler care
preschooler care

Gender Female

Age 56

Experience 10+ years nanny 10+ years babysitting

Skills Drivers License Car Swim

Can care for Disabilities Behavioral Issues Twins/Multiples Elderly

Availability Start Date Is Flexible

Position duration Permanent / Full-time

Would prefer to Either Live-in or Live-out


I’m a nanny because I love working with my families and their children, just knowing I make their day a little easier by helping out makes a big difference. As a Professional Nanny, I emphasize to parents that as a nanny I believe in providing all aspects relating to the child/the child's needs. To be a nanny takes a special person that can connect with a child. I am a nanny for the simple reason that I enjoy giving the nurturing, warmth, and love I can provide a child / children while the parent is out of the home. To see the trust in a child's eyes and know you make a difference is reward enough. My work ethics are to provide 110% commitment to my families concentrating, on the care, needs, safety, first and foremost to every child.

My past childcare experience I am a professional nanny and previously have worked as a nanny for over 10+ years. I am also a Mom who has raised her children so, I know the challenges of raising children. After raising my children I wanted to utilize the vast amounts of experience I have acquired including the experience of working with various ages (newborn to teen years)and multiple numbers of children in a family. I specialize in Newborn Care from the moment a baby is born and comes home. I assist mom, dad and baby transition from hospital to home. This is a "trying" period for a family especially, if they are first time parents. It is also comforting to have someone who has the experience and knowledge in helping with their little one. I like knowing the experience I bring to a new family helps them to undertake their role as parents. Previous experience has been in after school programs tutoring Kinder through Fifth graders. Providing extra curricular age appropriate activities such as computer lab, reading theater, crafting and sports programs. Other experience is as a Lead Teacher in a Preschool setting(16 plus) newborn(6 weeks/toddlers)and the 2/3 age group. I do have a degree from Cal State San Bernardino in Liberal Studies (Education and Child Psychology). While conducting my field studies (Teaching Credential Program), I had the opportunity to work with ESL Program's (English as a Second Language)with students, who came from other countries and had to be taught English in order to participate/ advance in their classes. I loved the challenges,rewards, and felt great pleasure in making a difference in a child's life. I have previous training utilizing the RIE Method at a families request(child is allowed to be independent at their own time/in their own way). I also have an AA in Liberal Studies/Early Childhood Development from College of The Desert, Palm Desert, CA. I do have current certification in Pediatric CPR/First Aid, vehicle does have current/full insurance coverage mandated by the state. I also have experience in areas such as assisting in every phase of running a home, (errands, doctor appointments, grocery/clothes shopping, planning / preparing meals, after school tutoring / activities, personal assistant to parents) making sure all phases of children / home needs are met while the parents are away for extended periods of time. The main priority of course are the children. I am able to utilize time-management skills effectively. I will accept live-in/live out assignments and believe in providing 110% commitment. The trust parents put in me to assist them with their children while they are out of the home is an honor. The main factor as a nanny is having compassion, warmth, understanding, and a huge sense of humor.

Additional comments I love and look forward to working with families where you are able to blend in with the family. This allows the child/children to feel comfortable and at ease. This is due in part to the fact that at times children do spend a large majority of their time with their nanny. My specialty is Newborn Care(work wonders with a colicky baby). I do have extensive experience in helping Mom, Dad and new baby transition from hospital to home. This includes overnight baby care. I am able to accept short-term assignments to help Mom and Dad adjust to "their little one". It is also beneficial as it allows new parents to get rest while working out a schedule that benefits baby and parents. This can be considered a most trying time for new parents so, it is nice to have someone who can lend a helping hand. I now have undertaken the task of acquiring certification as a "Postpartum doula"(providing care to a new mommy and baby from the onset of birth). In providing this special care the new mommy is able to have a stress free transition into motherhood. My latest venture has been to set-up an online web based advice service, for parents/caregivers, or anyone who is involved in child raising. I also have developed an online web store which offers apparel for children and the coveted "tote". This venture came about after observing how parent's and nannies have to carry everything that is essential on outings with children. This of course does not take away from my passion in working with children, their families as my motivation is, to extend a helping hand utilizing the skills and experience I use as a nanny on a daily basis. We as parents need to remember, a helping hand speaks a thousand words. We also need to take into account that our children are the future of tomorrow.

Level of education College Degree

Languages English, Spanish

Nationality American