Astride N. - Seeking Work in New Orleans
Astride N. - Seeking Work in New Orleans

Astride a Nanny for Hire in New Orleans, LA 70119

22.85
start: Mar 6, 2014
< 1 yr experience
part-time
live-out
special needs
infant care
toddler care
preschooler care
grade-schooler care

Gender Female

Age 33

Experience 10+ years nanny 10+ years babysitting

Skills Swim

Can care for Disabilities Behavioral Issues Twins/Multiples

Availability [phone number hidden]

Position duration Permanent / Part-time, Temporary / Summer

Would prefer to Live-out

Preferred states LA


I’m a nanny because I've been doing it for so long. It was my very first job when I was 12, and it's what I continue to do. I love children!


My past childcare experience My name is Astride and I am a film and screenwriting graduate of Columbia College. Don’t let my degree deter you, as I have about 14 years of childcare experience. My most recent job was as a full-time live-in nanny for two medical Tulane residents. I looked after their daughters who are now 2 and 4. Although I am no longer their full-time nanny, I occasionally look after the girls (they are the two cute little ones in my profile picture). I've also worked for many other families in New Orleans, and I have great references. I love children; when I was a kid I swore that I would grow up to have one hundred kids. Thousands of diapers later, I’ve out grown that specific dream, but I still adore working with young people. I had my first babysitting job when I was 12, working for a family at my church, and now 14 years later, I’m still providing my services. I am originally from Boston, where I babysat for many families and landed my first full-time nanny job. For two summers, I also worked as a counselor in training at the camp that I attended every summer. After high school, I attended Temple University in Philadelphia where I took a mini break from child care in order to diversify my work experience. Two years later, I transferred to Columbia College in Chicago where I changed from Communications to a Film major. In Chicago, I worked for several families –some part time, full time, short and long term. I’ve worked with kids of all ages, from newborns to preteens and teens. I worked for a family who later hired me to work as the youth leader at her church for kids between the ages of six to sixteen. I also worked as a counselor during their yearly summer retreat. I am currently concentrating on my creative work and would prefer part-time work, short term work, occasional gigs and jobs along that line. I am flexible, so I am willing to work out different scheduling details. I don’t mind doing overnights, traveling, or doing a short term full time situation. Whatever it is, we can figure it out. I am a very active and energetic nanny! While you’re gone, you can expect that I will engage your children by taking them out to explore the city, playing tag at the play ground, collecting rocks and leaves during nature walks, visiting museums, zoo, or the aquarium, working on a cool art project at home, making mystery casserole or engaging in a baking project, reading books, playing pretend and more.


Level of education College Degree

Languages French

Nationality American