Ashley T. - Seeking Work in New York
Ashley T. - Seeking Work in New York

Ashley a Nanny for Hire in New York, NY 10028

20.00
start: Sep 28, 2011
< 1 yr experience
full-time
live-in
special needs
driver’s license
English
preschooler care
grade-schooler care

Gender Female

Age 31

Experience 10+ years babysitting

Skills Drivers License Swim

Can care for Disabilities Behavioral Issues Twins/Multiples Elderly

Availability [phone number hidden]

Position duration Permanent / Full-time

Would prefer to Either Live-in or Live-out

Preferred states NY


I’m a nanny because I love talking to kids, asking them questions, and inviting them to explore their imagination. I love hearing what they have to say, teaching them how to play music (if they're interested), and just meeting them on their level. I love to play games with them! I am very active myself and have always loved playing games and sports, (i.e. throwing a frisbee, football, baseball, softball, kicking around a soccer ball, etc.), while I also have very feminine interests, and I had no shortage of dolls growing up as a little girl, so I enjoy interacting with both boys and girls equally. Also, I am very creative, and I love creating with kids, as I think they are so in touch with their imagination and can come up with some of the most awesome art!


My past childcare experience Hey! I just moved to New York City about two weeks ago! I just graduated from Savannah College of Art & Design with a BFA in Furniture Design. I am currently looking to fill my schedule with full-time work. As far as experience... I grew up around all boys between my brothers and cousins. I did babysitting for my cousins in all stages of their lives, from helping my aunt in their earliest years, to hanging out with them as pre-teens, as well as doing all kinds of cleaning and picking up after them in-between. I was a lifeguard for one summer in high school. I was a YMCA Camp High Harbour counselor for two summers. While I was there, I was a counselor for the youngest girls, as well as older co-ed groups of kids. Between those two years, I lifeguarded, cleaned, led activities, put kids to bed, rock-climbed, rafted, rappelled, drove boats, jumped off cliffs (in an organized, safe environment), helped prepare meals, led bible studies, met parents, played games, swam, kayaked, made crafts, had conversations, and seriously had the time of my life. I was a student mentor my last year of high school. I was a Young Life Leader for a quarter in college. I volunteered with Special Education kids in my high school, and it was the absolute best part of my day. I would take my lunch into their classroom and eat with them. They were the most severely disabled kids in my school, and something about them brought my heart so much joy. I learned more from them my last two years of high school than I probably did in the classroom. They were wonderful. Still to this day, being around anyone of any age with a disability, no matter how mild or severe, is one of my favorite things to do and be a part of. I am comfortable with dogs, as I have grown up with dogs throughout my updringing; mostly labs and golden retrievers. I also learned French in high school, and understand the basics.


Additional comments As far as caregiving philosophies, I believe in eye contact and engagement. I believe in interacting with children and people with authenticity. I believe in being active, and being outside; I think both of those things are healthy and good for the soul. I also believe in rest, and treasure rainy days, as they make time for excellent things like fort-building, reading, and playing music; things that are just as important as playing in the sunshine. I am single, do not have any children of my own, and am no longer in school, so I am very available and my schedule is extremely flexible! All of this to say, I am comfortable with kids and people of all ages and sizes, and welcome new experiences and challenges because I really love to learn and grow as a person. I am highly intuitive and highly active. I love meeting new people, and would love to be a part of your child's life, or your loved one's life who has special needs. I love people, and look forward to meeting you and the people you love who need care, attention, and time.


Level of education College Degree

Languages English

Nationality American