Nannies > Florida > Orange City
Josephine H. - Seeking Work in Orange City
Josephine H. - Seeking Work in Orange City

Josephine a Nanny for Hire in Orange City, FL 32763

driver’s license
infant care
preschooler care
special needs
toddler care

Gender Female

Age 28

Experience 8 years nanny 8 years babysitting

Skills Drivers License Car Swim

Can care for Disabilities Behavioral Issues Twins/Multiples

Availability [phone number hidden]

Position duration Permanent / Full-time

Would prefer to Either Live-in or Live-out

Preferred states FL

I’m a nanny because I have never been happier than when I was taking care of children. I have been working retail jobs since I recently moved to Florida and I feel the need to get back to what I am best at. Childcare! It feels good to gain a families trust with their most precious concern. Their child. I am great at what I do and I would love to be able to support myself by doing what I am good at and helping a family out with their child's development!

My past childcare experience Professional summary I have always been a leader, Hardworking, An exceptional communicator and reliable. I recently moved to Florida from North Carolina where I've obtained a plethora of job experience in several different industries. What I am looking for in a job is a consistent schedule, reasonable hours, steady pay, an organized and friendly family to become a part of! I have a lot to offer as a nanny and look forward to putting my skills to good use while also finding a way to support myself financially. Skills1 • Superior verbal and written communication skills • Calm under pressure • Analytical thinker • Exceptional attention to detail • Natural leader • Excellent interpersonal skills • Flexible schedule • Reliable Skills 2 • Creative problem solving • Excellent time management • Critical thinker • Leadership abilities • People-oriented • Customer service • Networking skills • Personable and friendly • Responsible • Motherly instincts • Caring • Fun • Energetic and bubbly • Easy to get along with • Accommodating • understanding Experience Taking care of my twin god sons [phone number hidden] *In 2007 my friend Kara had twin boys. Because she was not experienced with childcare and I was she offered to pay me to help her take care of them when they were 2 weeks old. I had already been involved in childcare at that point due to service trips and a natural instinct for taking care of children. After about 6 months of helping her she asked me to be there god mother since I was already basically taking the place of their father (who did not help at all). I taught her how to change their diapers efficiently, get them to sleep in their cribs, stop them from biting and hitting, how to feed them in the least messy way possible and pretty much every stage they went through. At times I would take them for a week while she went out or got things done that she hadn’t been able to. At these points in time I got the full experience and by that I mean waking up at 3 in the morning changing both of their diapers after washing them off in the bathtub, washing their sheets then preparing bottles putting new sheets on their bed and getting them back to sleep at the same time. I believe a lot of my experience comes from this point because I was completely immersed in the roll of a parent. Nanny Internship May 2008 *At the end of my senior year in high school I had a 2 week internship for my teacher who had recently had a daughter. This experienced helped me learn how to work with a mother who had specifications which was a completely different experience from working with my god sons mother and deciding myself what to do. I learned about how to follow specific directions when it comes to a mother’s preference. I took her for walks in the park and facilitated her development by introducing certain toys. I also brought my own ideas to the table and my teacher loved them for example using music to calm her down when she was upset. It was a great collaborative experience. xx August 2008-May 2012 *The xx is a program designed for teenage mothers who need guidance and support learning how to better themselves and their families. I was a Bonner Scholar in college which was a scholarship program where you do community service in order to help with tuition, because I went to a community service oriented private high school I was excited to pick a venue and this was perfect for me. As volunteers we looked after the mother baby’s in a day care setting while they went with their mentors to learn about how to continue education and keep their children healthy. What I gained most from this experience was working with multiple children at a time. I was very fast passed. I got the nickname “baby whisperer” which was a running joke among the volunteers due to the fact that everyone would hand their screaming baby to me to get them to calm down. I loved this program because you got to see the children grow up from new born infants into functioning toddlers and you couldn’t help but think you had a heavy influence on their development. May 2009-August 2009 *After my sophomore year in college I was a camp counselor at xx in Mane which is an all-girls summer camp in that invites girls from the inner city to experience nature and learning how to get along with each other. I was the dance counselor and I was a co counselor of a bunk of around 12/13 campers ages 7-9. Here I learned a lot about how to problem solve between children. A lot of fights and disagreements happened between campers due to a vast amount of personalities and behavioral problems. I learned about psychology and decided to change my major to child psychology because of this experience because I had a natural talent for knowing how to get children to cooperate with me and still love to be around me. I was often the favorite camp counselor because I held a good balance of discipline (when needed) and fun every other time! College nannies and tutors *xx is an on call nanny opportunity however if the family liked you they could request you every time they needed a care giver. This helped me learn about time management and planning. One usually didn’t know about a job until the night before or even the morning of, so you would have to figure out how far away the families house was and plan accordingly as soon as possible to be on time. I loved this job. I often would spend my free time coming up with little crafts and snack ideas to bring with me which made the kids excited for me to come back. Since I want to do art therapy with my child psychology degree this job was great practice for me to figure out what projects were better than others. Education High school- xx School- High school Diploma. Graduated in 2008. Guilford College- Bachelors of Science-Psychology major/Art minor [phone number hidden]. Phoenix- Bachelors of psychology(continued) 2014-Current *My dream is to become and art therapist in a children’s hospital. Eventually when I get everything in order I would like to have my own children’s center as well, based on hands on learning and peer on peer learning. I would also love to teach the children about technology with cool projects such as building co2 cars, rockets and other fun projects that show children how interesting technology is and how important it is. My whole goal in life is to help children and be a part of raising a better generation of innovative thinkers and intelligent adults! Community service *xx- Childcare for children of migrant farm workers *El Salvador- Building community center for the children in that community *Trinidad-observing the wildlife including sea turtles *xx-childcare and mentoring Teen mothers *xx-tutoring for adults with English as a second language *xx-tutoring for refugee children

Level of education Some College but Non-Graduate

Languages English

Nationality American