Child Care > Oregon > Portland
Shannen W. - Seeking Work in Portland
Shannen W. - Seeking Work in Portland

Shannen a Nanny for Hire in Portland, OR 97217

start: Jan 1, 2000
< 1 yr experience
special needs
driver’s license
toddler care
preschooler care

Gender Female

Age 40

Experience 10+ years nanny 10+ years babysitting

Skills Drivers License Car Swim

Can care for Disabilities Behavioral Issues Twins/Multiples Elderly

Availability Start Date Is Flexible

Position duration Permanent / Full-time

Would prefer to Live-out

Preferred states OR,WA

I’m a nanny because I am a nanny because I really enjoy hanging out with kids, I like teaching them new things and having fun with them and watching them learn and grow. It's a rewarding job and I think it's great to have a job that I really enjoy doing.

My past childcare experience I have been a professional nanny for 10+ years. I graduated from xx in 2005. After graduating I worked for the temporary nanny service through the nanny school. This gave me an opportunity to work with many different types of families and many different age groups. Eventually I took a permanent nanny position with the xx family. I cared for one boy and one girl, ages 14 months and 2 years when i started. They were 10 and 11 years old when I left. My reason for leaving is they no longer needed a nanny. I was with them for a total of 7 years. I spent 3 years with them and then moved to Hawaii for awhile and then came back and was with them for 4 more years. My job duties included planning fun activities and outings for the children, reading to them, and helping them learn and grow in a relaxed and fun environment. I also drove them to and from school, doctor and dentist appointments, haircuts, play dates, etc. I fed and walked their 2 dogs during the day, did light house cleaning, all of the kids laundry and one load per week of the parents laundry. I did all of their grocery shopping, dropped off and picked up dry cleaning and did many other errands for the mother. My second permanent nanny job is working for a single mother and caring for her one daughter (who is physically and mentally disabled). She was 4 years old when I started and will turn 6 in July. My duties at this job mostly just revolve around the child. She requires constant care and attention as she can not sit, stand or walk on her own. She is also non-verbal and communicates primarily through making noises (happy or mad, laughing, crying, etc.) She can kick her legs and move her arms and hands to reach for things, point and grab. (medical diagnosis: Generalized Dystonia with global delays.) She loves playing with her toys and listening to music (while I help her practice reaching for toys and stretching). We also go swimming, to the zoo, park, horse back riding, nature walks (I seek out every place I can that has a paved or at least a wider gravel path for her wheelchair or stroller to move comfortably on so she can get out in nature as much as possible. Along the way I like to pick up things and hand them to her to hold and feel, like leaves, sticks, acorns, grass, etc. and then I tell her all about what we're looking at and what she's holding. She really enjoys it!) I also pick her up from school (She attends a Special Education classroom in an Elementary School), I take her to appointments such as Speech, Occupational, and Physical Therapy and Acupuncture. I prepare lunch and dinner for her and also feed her bolus through a feeding tube in her stomach. I do some grocery shopping and also light cleaning and light laundry. I have been at this job for a little over 2 years. I currently still work at this job but am seeking more full time employment again as she has been gradually going to school for longer hours which cuts back on my working hours and I need a more full time position. I love being a nanny and watching kids grow up. Watching them play, learn, laugh and have fun is very rewarding for me. I am definitely a hands on kind of nanny, I love getting right down on the floor with them and playing or running around with them! Hugs and snuggles are always good too! Good communication between myself and the parent(s), working as a team and finding the right fit for everyone involved are also very important things to me. A little bit about me: I am 38 years old. I have lived in Portland for a total of 16 years. I was born and raised in a small town in Iowa. Other places I have lived include Florida, New York City and Hawaii (island of Kauai). I currently live in North Portland with my fiancé and our awesome 11 year old dog, Blondie. In my free time I enjoy reading, photography, hiking, spending time with my dog and my friends, and watching a few tv shows that I’m addicted to! ;) I look forward to finding a new family to work for! If I seem like I might be the right fit for your family, I would love to get together for an interview! Thank you for taking the time to read this and I hope to hear from you soon! Have a great day! :)

Level of education Some College but Non-Graduate

Languages English

Nationality American