Marissa F. - Seeking Work in Raynham
Marissa F. - Seeking Work in Raynham

Marissa a Nanny for Hire in Raynham, MA 02379

driver’s license
infant care
preschooler care
special needs
toddler care

Gender Female

Age 33

Experience 6 years nanny 10+ years babysitting

Skills Drivers License Car Swim

Can care for Behavioral Issues Twins/Multiples Elderly

Availability Start Date Is Flexible

Position duration Permanent / Full-time, Permanent / Part-time

Would prefer to Live-out

Preferred states MA,RI

I’m a nanny because I enjoy nannying because of the more intimate, meaningful relationships that you're able to build with the children in your care. You grow to understand their personalities, their interests, their dislikes, how they learn and with what they struggle most and through this understanding are able to guide, comfort and teach effectively. Nannying also affords a great deal of flexibility in the kinds of activities that you're able to engage the children in. The opportunities for learning, on many levels, are endless and this appeals greatly to the teacher in me. Despite the daily challenges that do inevitably come along while working with children, to be able to personally influence and bear witness to positive growth on any level is incredibly rewarding.

My past childcare experience I have been working with children of all ages (birth through high school) in a variety of capacities for over ten years doing everything from nannying to tutoring early literacy (Pre-K-2nd Grade)to working alongside therapists in an Early Intervention setting to managing my own classroom as a preschool teacher. I also worked for some time as a substitute teacher, grades K-12. I spent several years throughout high school babysitting for a few families with children ranging from infancy to fifth grade, usually just for a few hours in the afternoon or during weekend evenings. Responsibilities typically included basic clean-up, entertainment and the occasional bedtime routine. As far as nannying experience is concerned, I spent one year taking care of my uncle's 2 girls, ages 5 and 9 when I began, before and after school. He was a a single father just getting on his feet at the time and I would arrive early to get the girls up, fed, ready and off to school or camp as he headed off to work. I would also be there to get them off the bus and assist with homework, accommodate afternoon activities and oversee playtime. Other responsibilities also included dishes, laundry, other basic house upkeep and some errands. For the last nine months, I have been employed through an agency providing after-school care for two children, aged 7 and 11. My current responsibilities include homework help, assistance with piano practice, overseeing playtime (indoors and out), basic clean-up, laundry and dishes, transportation to and from afternoon activities. I have also, during this time, effectively worked to help the seven year old overcome some major difficulties that she had been experiencing with literacy in school. While I adore the children and the family, my availability is changing in the fall and I will no longer be with them once the school year ends. I am now looking for a more full-time, potentially long-term position and will be available to start mid-June.

Additional comments I consider myself to be a highly energetic, nurturing, creative and involved caregiver and am especially passionate about fostering an early love of reading, literature and music with any child within my care. While parenthood in itself has been quite enlightening in terms of what to expect and how to handle behavior and development through early childhood, my experiences at Early Intervention and as a preschool teacher have provided me with more hands-on, professional training along with an arsenal of ideas and activities that I am now able to share with the families I work for. That being said, I am also a firm believer in the value of creative play over any kind of screen activities and I enjoy taking that same active exploration outdoors (for a walk, in the backyard, to the park etc.) whenever the weather allows! I can also provide several excellent references and letters of recommendation upon request. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Level of education Some College but Non-Graduate

Languages English

Nationality American