Nannies > California > Redding
Merri D. - Seeking Work in Redding
Merri D. - Seeking Work in Redding

Merri a Nanny for Hire in Redding, CA 96002

driver’s license
preschooler care
special needs
grade-schooler care

Gender Female

Age 27

Experience 2 years nanny 7 years babysitting

Skills Drivers License Car Swim

Can care for Twins/Multiples

Availability [phone number hidden]

Position duration Permanent / Full-time

Would prefer to Live-in

Preferred states CA,NY

I’m a nanny because I have been working in a high volume child care facility for the last 14 months, and I have decided that it is not for me. I really miss working with a smaller group of children, who I can get to know, and work with. Doing the cruises, some of which are only three or four days long, don't give me that opportunity. Also, because we are so fast paced, I feel I do not have the opportunities to do the detailed crafts, cooking projects, games, and other activities that I really enjoyed doing with the children I babysat and nannied for in the past. I'm really looking forward to finding a position where I am able get to know the children I am working with again.

My past childcare experience Cruise Lines – Live in Port Canaveral, Florida- Children 2-17 years:March 2012-Present ●Responsible for working with and leading a small team of ‘counselors’ in entertaining and caring for children 2 ½- 12 years of age. ●Responsible for being first point of contact with parents/guardians in their expectations in regards to children’s safety, dietary requirements, allergies, and emotional well-being. ●Creating and facilitating circle games, arts and crafts, scavenger hunts, and small shows/skits, often on short notice. ●Maintaining a safe environment, including verifying identities of adults interacting with the children, solving immediate problems, and helping children resolve arguments peacefully. Redding, California- Children 2 ½ -17 years: January 2006-March [phone number hidden];Responsible for teaching gymnastics in a safe environment for toddlers to advanced students. ●One of the first contacts with parents/guardians in regards to their expectations of their children’s safety and skill levels. ●Was lead coach for summer camps, teaching children ages 5-12 safe gymnastics, tumbling, and cheerleading, as well as supervising arts and crafts, water games, and snack times. ●Helped to entertain children at birthday parties located at the facility. Worked with parents to figure out games children would like, as well as teaching fun, quick gymnastics moves in a safe environment. ●Helped out with basic office jobs, such as filing and copying reports, answering phones, and helping to schedule different activities and classes with different employees. Family-Live Out Anderson, California – One boy, age four: Summer of 2011 •Worked with a developmentally delayed boy as a team with another special needs teacher as the recreation side of the team. Helped him to learn how to swim both at a local high school and at home. Family-Live Out Redding, California- One boy, age eight: August[phone number hidden] •Responsible for driving a young boy to school a few days a week, including occasionally making nutritious breakfasts and lunches, and making sure he completed and had all of his homework. •Occasionally picked up the boy from school to take him to his mother’s work, or to his father’s home. •Helped mother during the summer to get the boy to summer camp, or to pick him up. •Helped the boy with early morning chores, such as cleaning out the dishwasher or feeding the family dog. •Caring for the home and family dog when family was out of town. Family- Live Out Redding, California- One girl, age five: December 2009 •Responsible for the week long care of a five year old girl while both parents were out of town. Responsibilities included: making meals for the child while adhering to her family’s vegetarian lifestyle, making sure she got to school on time, following parent’s instructions in relation to bedtimes and rewards, dropping her off at play dates and picking her up, taking her Christmas shopping and going on other outings, caring for the home and family pets, coordinating phone calls with the parents, etc.

Additional comments I have excellent writing and verbal skills; strong swimmer; has basic Spanish and American Sign Language as well as fluent in Toddler, Doll, and Stuffed Animal; able to patch and sew holes or rips in favorite toys, doll clothes, blankets, and children’s clothes; fantastic board game player, average computer/video game skills, below average Angry Bird player; creative story maker and excellent bed-time story book reader; great homework helper, science project assistant, and book report co-writer; loves to travel; enjoys adventures around the home and town; enjoys baking and other kitchen activities; not afraid of glitter, glue, flour, paint or other arts and craft supplies; willing and able to look silly during play or dress-up time for a laugh or smile; believes in fairies, imaginary friends, and will stand to defend and protect from closet monsters and creatures under the bed.

Level of education Some College but Non-Graduate

Languages English

Nationality American