Nannies > Virgínia > Virginia Beach
Patricia H. - Seeking Work in Virginia Beach
Patricia H. - Seeking Work in Virginia Beach

Patricia a Nanny for Hire in Virginia Beach, VA 23454

driver’s license
infant care
preschooler care
special needs
toddler care
grade-schooler care

Gender Female

Age 57

Experience 10+ years nanny 10+ years babysitting

Skills Drivers License Car Swim

Can care for Disabilities Behavioral Issues Twins/Multiples Elderly

Availability Start Date Is Flexible

Position duration No Preference

Would prefer to Live-out

Preferred states VA

I’m a nanny because My absolute favorite part of being a nanny is the ability to be an integral part of a child's development. There is nothing more rewarding than watching a child grow and progress while in my care. The fact that I am with the child for a significant amount of the day makes me realize I have the opportunity and responsibility to positively influence then and have an impact on their lives to raise great citizens. It is a huge responsibility, but also and honor and a privilege.

My past childcare experience People comment often that I am natural with babies and children. My caregiving experience started at age ten as a mother's helper, through my teens and during college. After college graduation I was the go to babysitter for all my brothers and sisters. 
Also, I have raised two successful daughters while working outside the home. We had a nanny who cared for our girls for seven years. I always wanted the girls to be in a loving, caring environment. I attribute their self confidence to the security of staying home with our loving nanny. 
If I had to describe myself in one word it would be "grandmotherly" with a little spunk. I love children and bond with them very quickly. I love to sing to them (my go to song is "You are My Sunshine"), hold them and just love them. I enjoy finger play songs (such as Itsy Bitsy Spider). I'm passionate about reading and playing outdoors.
 Reading is a fundamental part of my daily plan. I use an app to log all activities for your review at the end of my work day: feedings, developmental milestone achievements, diaper and play times. I practice excellent hygiene skills. 
I am an excellent cook and can get a laundry stain out of almost anything. I'm happy to help with homework, transportation, caring for sick little ones on days they can't go to school, play room pick up, meal prep and all basic household responsibilities. I'm very comfortable with pets (well, I'm not too fond of snakes). I am a responsible, affectionate, seasoned caregiver with excellent child care and interpersonal skills. I am friendly and energetic. I listen carefully and follow directions well. My schedule is open and flexible as I am retired from 27 years of Federal Service as a GS-15 contracting officer. With age comes knowledge, commitment and a strong desire to meet or exceed your expectations.
 Being a caregiver has been very rewarding because I have had the opportunity to be part of the future of children. I am an active member of my Church. I live in Ocean Lakes (Dam Neck and General Booth) - very close to Ocean Lakes Elementary. I am a non smoker. I own a 2016 Subaru Outback and possess a valid VA Drivers license and full automobile insurance. The best way to reach me is call anytime on my cell phone at [phone number hidden]. Thank you for your time! I hope to hear from you soon! Nanny T

Additional comments I believe staying long-term with a family is beneficial for all parties involved. As time passes, I get to know the family more, create a stronger relationship and understand their needs which allows me to better do my job. Additionally, the parents develop a trust in me and feel more comfortable leaving their children under my care and supervision. Lastly, and perhaps most importantly, I've observed that children thrive in a secure, consistent situation. Frequently having to readjust to a caregiver degrades that consistency.

Level of education College Degree

Languages English

Nationality American