Laie, HI
7 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!
Nannies > Hawaii > Laie

Laie, HI Nannies

Lindsay  H. - Seeking Work in Laie

22.85 / hour

I have worked with a total of four families over the course of three years as a childcare professional. As a nanny I have spent time with children between the ages of three and nine, two of which had high functioning autism. I have been responsible for everything form early morning care to bedtime routines, homeschooling activities, outdoor adventures, meal preparation, bathtime, school pickups, transportation to practices, managing behavioral issues, organizing arts and crafts and facilitating and monitoring play dates. I have loved the time I’ve spent with these children and their families! I consider the relationships I’ve developed in this capacity some of the most meaningful in my life and still keep in touch with the families to this day. Before the time I spent as a childcare professional I did a lot of babysitting. I also grew up in a large family, in an environment with lots of children. This has given me the opportunity to become familiar and comfortable with children ranging from infants to pre-teen. I love contributing to the growth experiences of children. I studied studio art in my undergrad and also minored in education. I have a sincere interest in meeting children where they are at and helping them progress in reaching their potential. I am conversational in Spanish and know some ASL. I’m also comfortable with (and enthusiastic about) giving art lessons to the children I work with.
Dannia T. - Seeking Work in Laie

22.85 / hour
Full-time hours

June 2010- May 2013 xx family, Utah- Babysitter ● Cared for two adopted, special-needs children, 2 yr. (boy) 4 yr. (girl), as well as their family dog ● Light- medium housework ● Organized physically exerting and educational games and activities, secured outdoor safety ● Cooked nutritious meals, ensuring the safety of the 4-year-old with a food coloring allergy April June 2007- May 2011 xx family, Utah- Babysitter ● Cared for two children, infant (boy) 3 yr. (boy) ● Implemented “baby sign language” during interaction ● Taught reading and spelling ● Bathed, groomed, assisted children in hygienic routines 2004- May 2013 xx family, Utah- Babysitter ● Cared for five children, 1 yr. (boy) 3 yr. (boy) 5 yr. (boy) 7 yr. (girl) 9 yr. (boy) ● Kept children constantly engaged with creative activities rather than television or movies ● Assisted with homework ● Utilized acquired psychological peacemaking tactics to quell arguments amongst siblings
Marian C. - Seeking Work in Laie

22.85 / hour

I've been a nanny/housekeeper for a lady with 4 children 2 of which are autistic. I do everything from laundry, to cleaning, to painting. I've been with her and the kids through 2 divorces and 3 different houses. I love the kids and my boss, I've just become part of the the family.
Kristin B. - Seeking Work in Laie

11.42 / hour

Last summer I was a nanny for a family of five children all under the age of 10 years old. I nannied for this family everyday for five hours. I was responsible to take kids to and from summer school, make lunches, do light household chores, instruct the children to do their chores and homework, make dinner, and keep the children entertained. Often times, I watched another families two children both under the age of two, with my main family. From this summer, with seven kids at times, I learned that I can handle stress and be patient! When I was done watching that family in the morning, most of my nights were spent watching children while parents went on date night. Nannying/babysitting has always been something that I have grown up doing and really enjoy doing it!
Brittania D. - Seeking Work in Laie

22.85 / hour

I am the third child of seven children and grew up babysitting and raising my younger siblings. I have also nannied in the summers for a family with 4 children of two girls and two boys- 2,4,6 and 7 years old. I also mommy help in my free time away from school for a mom of three including a newborn.
Kylee H. - Seeking Work in Laie

12.00 / hour
< 1 yr of experience

Hello, my name is Kylee. I am a student at BYU-Hawaii. I've been a nanny/caregiver for over 7 years now. I have worked at a daycare and as a personal nanny, so I am experienced with all ages.
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Laie, HI?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Laie’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Laie Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in Hawaii?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Laie?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?