Holbrook, NY
17 nannies near you

Find Nannies in your area
 
Create a ProfileTell us your family’s needs and requirements in a nanny.
Browse & ConnectBrowse nanny profiles. Message and shortlist top candidates.
Send an OfferFound a match? We’ll help you generate an agreement!
Nannies > New York > Holbrook

Holbrook, NY Nannies

Heidi S. - Seeking Work in Holbrook

17.14 / hour
Full-time hours

I am currently a nanny for 3 children under 6 years old. I have been witht this family for 4 yrs and have enjoyed it.I was also a nanny for a three yr. old and a 10 month old. They decided to put them in a daycare so that they could interact more with other children. I worked in Arkansas for a six year old. While she was in school I would tidy up the house, wash dishes, run errands, and start cooking supper. I would pick her up from the bus stop and then we would do homework and then play for a while. I have been babysitting children for over 10 years. I truly love working with kids. I enjoy taking them to the library, parks, zoo, and museums. Kids are very smart and pick up on everything. I am a very happy go person, fun, patient, and energetic. I love laughing and meeting new people. Additional information: I'm looking for a nice and loving family where the parents back you up on the decisions you have made unless they don't agree and then we should talk about it. I'm willing to clean up after the childen, cook their meals, and do light housekeeping. I'm here to look after and care for the kids first and foremost. Candidate's challenges of position: Children are children, they are going to cry, act out, be silly, do things to see how far they can push you until you budge and that is something you have to deal with. I like to use timeout because I feel they work, but I would do what ever the parents thought would be better. I think it is challenging when the parents do not back you up and then they let the kids walk all over you and that is something I can not support. Candidate's rewards of position: I find the things that make me proud, is when I can teach them something and I see them using or showing what I have taught them. Like with toddlers helping them walk, saying their a,b,c's, showing their manners, and anything else I see I have taught them. It shows me that I am doing my job.
Samantha S. - Seeking Work in Holbrook

20.00 / hour
Full-time hours

I started babysitting when I was 11 year old for family's around my neighborhood. We moved to Florida from living in Dix Hills and I started babysitting children in our community. I started working at a Camp at the age of 14-16 I started off as a counselor their, with children between the ages of 4-5 yrs of age. Camp loved me and so did all the children and parents. Once I turned 18 and graduated high school in 07 I got a job at Discovery Preschool working with toddlers. I loved that job very much and I knew right then and there that working with children was my thing. I worked there for almost 2 yrs. I then moved back up to NY and started watching my nephew he was 9 months and I watched him till he was 2. I was with him from early in the morning till late at night. I then got a job at Tutor Time in west islip and enrolled my nephew in there as well. I got hired as a floater and went from room to room. Then my perminant position was in the infants in the mornings and toddlers in the afternoons. I grew such a strong relationship with all the children and parents but the pay was horrible so after a year I left. After working in an office for the summer I realized I missed working with kids. I got a job at learnin seeds of Holbrook in October had a perminant position with the 3 year olds who loved me very much and I loved them as well. Parents were extremely happy with me. I then moved into the infants room where I became so close with the baby's and parents. Working with children is an amazing experience for me. I love the children as if they were my own. Learning seeds of Holbrook shut down yesterday 3/2/2012 and now I'm in need of a job. Working with children is what I still want to do.
Laura S. - Seeking Work in Holbrook

17.14 / hour
Full-time hours

I worked at a daycare for nearly four years . Here, I cared for children from the ages of three weeks to five years of age. I also have a wealth of babysitting experience, since I am the oldest of five children (my little sister is five years old). I am CPR certified and I am a certified nurse aide in the NYS registry.
Ashley B. - Seeking Work in Holbrook

15.00 / hour
Full-time hours
4 yrs of experience

Hello ! My name is Ashley , I am 26 years old . I have been in child care since I was 16 years old ! Yes a long time and I absolutely love it ! I have done regular babysitting/nanny jobs from newborns all the way upto teens ! I also have great experience with special needs child care . Child care just isn’t watching a child for me , it’s helping them learn and grow into there own person . I have a very big heart and a great personality, usually kids get along with me very quick ! I am looking for full time and I hope if he perfect for your family .
Paulina B. - Seeking Work in Holbrook

12.00 / hour
Full-time hours
4 yrs of experience

I’m a very responsible person ... I love kids💙 I have my own and I like to help take care of others.I have a bachellors in psychology, which helps me provide the best care all around
Jillian L. - Seeking Work in Holbrook

17.14 / hour

I will start with the fact that I am a NYS certified teacher(certification pending) with my Master's degree. I have worked with children for all of my professional life, and cannot imagine doing anything else. I don't like to sit the children down in front of the tv for hours at a time. It is always a great time to get out and enjoy the fresh air. I love to play sports with the kids, and do fun things, like take them to the aquarium, etc. My childcare experience all started at the age of fifteen. I spent 4 summers working for a summer camp, then was promoted to program director. The children ranged from kindergarten to 5th grade. The ages I have experience with range from newborn to 15 years old. I have worked with children in many capacities. Being a nanny, a full-time elementary school teacher, tutoring, working in a daycare center as an administrator, and many other facets. So after working with many different ages I can say that my childcare style is nuturing, fun, sensitive and structured. I'd have to insist on being able to take them anywhere and everywhere on Long Island. I know of petting zoos, parks, etc, and cannot spend all day, every day in the house. :)
Find affordable child care options that fit your lifestyle.
What are some common responsibilities for nannies in Holbrook, NY?

As a parent, it’s natural for you to ask your nanny for a little extra help around the house. However, the boundaries for a nannies duties vary from person to person. In general, a nanny is responsible for making sure your children’s needs are met. This includes things like ensuring they have opportunities to play and be active, that they have a healthy diet and a sanitary home. When tasks go beyond child care, for example scrubbing kitchen counters, folding laundry, gathering groceries, or teaching a language, you will likely need to provide additional compensation.

How can I ensure I have a great relationship with my nanny?

To start, it’s important you set expectations and are aligned on compensation from day one. This includes outlining vacation days, a protocol for sick days, and everything else you would want your own employer to cover. From here, spend time getting to know them. Take your nanny out one of Holbrook’s great restaurants, learn about their childhood, and discuss your parenting philosophy. Finally, be sure to resolve conflicts as they arise. Open communication is crucial to ensuring a healthy long-term relationship.

Questions to ask prospective Holbrook Nannies:
  • Have you been a nanny previously? How long did your employment last?
  • Are you trained in First Aid or CPR?
  • How would you handle a situation where our child began choking?
  • How do you handle tantrums? Can you share an experience disciplining children?
  • What sort of household tasks are you open to doing?
  • Are you open to a live in arrangement?
  • Do you plan to work for our family over multiple years?
  • Do you have a driver's license in New York?
  • Do you own a car? Do you have work experience in Holbrook?
  • How flexible are you on weekends and evenings?
  • What salary are you seeking? Are you comfortable being paid by direct deposit?
  • Are you able to help with food preparation?
  • What could you cook for a child aged 2-5? Do you know how to make baby food?
  • Are you comfortable facilitating play dates?
  • Have you ever potty trained a child before?
  • Have you worked with newborns? Do you know how to change a diaper and prepare formula?
Popular Searches in Holbrook, NY