Flor E. - Seeking Work in New York
Flor E. - Seeking Work in New York

Full-Time Available Nanny Flor in New York, NY

Looking For
Availability
Start: TBD
Full-time
Live-in

Nannies near New York

Hillary H. - Seeking Work in New York
Hillary H.
New York$17.14/hr  |  < 1 yr experience
I have babysat since I was about 16, mostly over the summers, but my two most fulfilling nannying jobs have been extremely different in nature. In 2012 I was lucky enough to begin working with an eleven year old boy with low-functioning, nonverbal autism. We spent every day together over the summer, and quickly formed a deep bond. I was entering my junior year in college at that point, and during every break, as well as the following summer, we enjoyed going to the park, swimming, listening to music, reading, etc. It was such a good learning opportunity for both of us, and that is a big reason why I love working with children. I may be exposing them to new words and places and ideas, but at the same time, they are teaching me patience and curiosity (as well as keeping me active!). Even once I graduated and began a full time job working at an arts organization serving youth and adults with disabilities, I went to spend time with him after work and on the weekends, even though I was busy and exhausted, I just loved it so much. That young man is now sixteen years old, and our relationship has evolved as we have both matured in certain ways but not in others. I moved to NYC a few months ago, but still make it a point to see him and his family whenever I can. The other pivotal babysitting experience that cemented my love for it was nannying for an infant girl from when she was about 3 months old to 2 years. I was working part time, and every other day I would spend about 8 hours learning, exploring, and playing with her. I left every day exhausted and thoroughly happy and grateful. It was when I moved away that I realized how much I missed working with children. I had always done it outside of a "day job," and have recently come to the realization that there is no need for that! I am interested in pursuing a Masters degree next Spring in School Psychology or Early Childhood Education, so that I can spend my days doing what I love, and in the meantime, what better way to spend my days than by making some great new young friends.